Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 5- Brussels Sprouts

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Parmesan

An ingredient that I was extremely excited to cook with as part of  The Creative Kitchen Challenge was Brussels Sprouts!  For whatever reason, I have never made them before.  And yet,  I really enjoy eating them.  But I think, as in all things, we get comfortable in our grocery shopping/cooking patterns.  I gravitate towards the same vegetables almost every time I’m at the store.  I barely have to write down broccoli, zucchini, asparagus, carrots, and green beans on my grocery list.  I just know that they are going to find their way into my cart.  Part of the great joy of participating in a challenge like this is to test the waters on ingredients that you have fear or trepidation for.  Another joy is making yourself pick up the ingredient that you know that you love, just never seem to think about when you are at the store!

The first time that I ever had Brussels sprouts was during a potluck in February 2009.  The dish that was brought had the little round cabbages of yummy surrounded in cheese and fake bacon.  Loved it and became fans of the vegetable ever since.  Because of that first experience, I wanted to recreate the flavors for this recipe — though this time utilize real bacon.  I found a recipe in Cooking Light that I thought I could use as a base and then modified to create the recipe below.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Parmesan modified from Cooking Light Magazine

  • 16 oz brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
  • 3 strips of bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1-2 Tbs  olive oil
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • kosher salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • Parmesan cheese, grated

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Trim and halve Brussels sprouts and put into a medium to large bowl.  Squeeze a half a lemon over the Brussels sprouts.

Add oil, garlic, salt and pepper (to taste) to the bowl and toss to coat.  Mix in cooked bacon.

Put mixture in jelly pan or baking dish, making sure the sprouts are spread out along the bottom of the pan.

Bake for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and stir sprouts.  Bake for another 10-15 minutes or until sprouts are tender and lightly browned on edges.

Remove from oven and sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese.  Serve immediately.

For more information about The Creative Kitchen Challenge, visit Things My Belly Likes

Coming up tomorrow, my adventure cooking with culinary lavender!

11 comments on “The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 5- Brussels Sprouts

  1. petit4chocolatier
    June 16, 2012

    Your recipe looks scrumptious; yet easy to prepare. I also love brussel sprouts and haven’t prepared them in awhile. Thank you for the recipe!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 16, 2012

      Your welcome! They were SO easy — and so very delicious!

  2. thingsmybellylikes
    June 16, 2012

    I was hoping bacon would be involved here…there’s nothing about this recipe I don’t love 🙂

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 16, 2012

      🙂 Yes, to me brussels sprouts and bacon go together like peanut butter and jelly!!

  3. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge Round-Up « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Laurie
    June 16, 2012

    I don’t cook Brussell Sprouts very often, but around Thanksgiving the local grocery stores often have giant stalks of fresh sprouts. I like to pick the sprouts, steam them, roll them in melted butter and then sprinkle them with sea salt. I think that I don’t make them more often, because fresh ones just aren’t always available. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 16, 2012

      The butter and sea salt sounds really good! I love that sometimes the most simple of recipes can be the most delicious! 🙂

  5. Cloches & Lavender
    June 16, 2012

    I have never cooked them but I had them and they are really good. Maybe this will get to try and cook them on my own.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 16, 2012

      Let me know if you do. I found it to be quite worth it and think they are now going to become part of my regular vegetable grocery buying!

  6. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 4- Avocados « Green Door Hospitality

  7. Pingback: Elegant and Affordable: Sautéed Brussels Sprouts and Shallots | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

