Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 6- Lavender

Raspberry Lavender Lemontini

Hope everyone had a lovely Father’s Day weekend.  We had a really nice weekend and because of that, I’m a bit behind on posting the last of my Creative Kitchen Challenge ingredients and recipes!

Last weekend, we went to the Blanco Lavender Festival and I had the opportunity to pick up some culinary lavender.  Having never cooked with lavender, it was perfect for the challenge.  Lavender can be used for so many sweet and savory dishes, but I thought I would try my hand at a little mixology since I love hints of lavender in certain cocktails.  I looked and looked for a recipe that would incorporate not only the lavender, but flavors of raspberries and lemon as well.   When I couldn’t find what I was looking for, I created my own!

Raspberry Lavender Lemontini

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 6 oz fresh raspberries
  • 1 Tbs culinary lavender
  • Limoncello (or other lemon liquor)

Combine the water and sugar in a small saucepan and bring to boil over medium heat, occasionally stirring until sugar dissolves.  Add raspberries and lavender to syrup and let boil for a couple minutes.  The raspberries should begin to fall apart.  Remove from heat and let sit for 30 minutes.

Pour syrup mixture through a sieve to remove berry seeds and lavender.

Combine equal parts Limoncello (or other lemon liquor) and raspberry lavender syrup to a glass of your choice.  We had it straight up in martini glasses, but this would also be quite good over rocks.

The Raspberry Lavender Syrup can not only be used for cocktails, but would be wonderful in ice teas or as an addition to regular lemonade!!

For more information about The Creative Kitchen Challenge, visit Things My Belly Likes

Stay tuned for my final challenge ingredient — The Artichoke!

8 comments on “The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 6- Lavender

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    June 18, 2012

    Love lavender for decorating and for planting but I have tried it in recipes and I am not a huge fan.

    Cynthia

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 18, 2012

      Understandable. It does have a very distinct taste. I enjoy it be I usually need to have other flavors involved (like in this case the raspberry) that can keep it “in check”.

  2. petit4chocolatier
    June 18, 2012

    Love, love lavender! I am definitely trying this! Thank you for sharing.

  3. thingsmybellylikes
    June 18, 2012

    Never in my life have I tried culinary lavender – is it weirdly like soap? Sounds great, there’s never enough cocktail recipes in my life!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 18, 2012

      Nope, not like soap 🙂 With that, it is a strong flavor and smell, so a little goes a long way! And you want to make sure there are other flavors to compliment it and not let the lavender flavor get too overwhelming.

  4. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge Round-Up « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 5- Brussels Sprouts « Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

