Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Getting Started

Late last week I discovered a wonderful new food challenge to partake in.  A great blog, Things My Belly Likes, has started the “Creative Kitchen Challenge”.  “Today I’m challenging all the food bloggers, cooks and epicurists out there to cook one thing that scares them every day.  Well, every day for a week at least. (cue sound of a gauntlet being thrown down).”

That means that every day this week (Monday 6/11-Sunday 6/17) I will be cooking with an ingredient I’ve never used before.  The point of this challenge is to cook outside of your comfort zone (which sometimes means leaving the cooking rut).  Now this does not mean cooking with the most exotic and expensive ingredients out there.  I made a point of choosing ingredients this week that I can go back to over and over again (some more frequently than others).

In thinking of ingredients, I also found myself thinking of foods that I have cooked with but not in awhile.  My inner monologue went something like this:

“Oh, I could do something with mangos, I’ve never cooked with mangos.”

“No, wait.  Didn’t you make that mango salsa back in 2005?”

“Oh yeah, that’s right.  Nevermind.”

Because of this conversation with myself, I’m thinking of challenging myself to pick up those ingredients that I haven’t used in awhile, dusting them off, and rediscovering their tastiness after I complete the Creative Kitchen Challenge.

Tonight, I’ll be cooking with Mussels for the first time.  They were on special at the market and as much as I enjoy them, I’ve never attempted to make them.  Stay tuned tomorrow to see what I did with them.

18 comments on “The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Getting Started

  1. Jenny Pool Radway
    June 11, 2012

    Mussels, yum!! I can’t agree to this challenge at this time – if I wasn’t pregnant I would be ALL OVER IT but, nope. There are so many things I can’t eat and then so many things that I just am not willing to put in my mouth – it’s like someone has taken over my brain and is unwilling to let me have control over it. But, can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 11, 2012

      VERY, VERY understandable!! A fun challenge for you to keep in mind after the baby…preferably after the baby is done nursing and before it starts joining you two for meals! 🙂

  2. thingsmybellylikes
    June 11, 2012

    Ahaha, I love your inner monologue. It sounds a lot like mine, only with less cursing 🙂 Thanks for taking on the Creative Kitchen Challenge and good luck with the muscles – you are a braver woman than I !

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 11, 2012

      Haha, I used one of the “clean” versions of my inner monologue. After awhile of thinking of ingredients that I had already used once many years ago, other words started to pop into my head! Just finished the mussels and will share the recipe tomorrow. Was really nervous about them, but they were a lot easier than I imagined! I say go for it!!

  3. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 1- Mussels | Beyond The Green Door

  4. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 2- Cremini Mushrooms | Beyond The Green Door

  5. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 3- Figs | Beyond The Green Door

  6. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 4- Avocados « Beyond The Green Door

  7. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 5- Brussels Sprouts « Beyond The Green Door

  8. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 6- Lavender « Beyond The Green Door

  9. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 7- Artichokes FIRST TRY « Beyond The Green Door

  10. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 7- Artichokes FIRST TRY « Green Door Hospitality

  11. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 5- Brussels Sprouts « Green Door Hospitality

  12. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 6- Lavender « Green Door Hospitality

  13. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 4- Avocados « Green Door Hospitality

  14. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 3- Figs « Green Door Hospitality

  15. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 2- Cremini Mushrooms « Green Door Hospitality

  16. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 1- Mussels « Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

