Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 4- Avocados

Bowl of Avacado

I have always had a nervous feeling about avocados.  Not quite the same feelings I had for mussels, or the artichoke (saving that monster for the last day of the challenge).  But it still was not an ingredient that I had warm, fuzzy feelings about.  This meant that it was PERFECT for The Creative Kitchen Challenge!

My first reaction was to make guacamole since that is such a common use of avocados.  But then I remembered a recipe that I had seen on Pintrest for a pesto that called for avocados.  It seemed like a more adventurous alternative (plus I have a ton of basil in my garden right now).

My biggest takeaway that I got from working with avocados is WEAR AN APRON!  I started cutting into it without one and the pit ended up landing right on my shirt.  Apron on, the cooking continued and there weren’t any other “incidents”.  I tossed the pesto with penne pasta but I think it would also be really good as a sauce for making homemade pizza!  The avocado added a really nice creaminess to the pesto and a great flavor!

The below recipe was modified slightly from the original found HERE.

Avacado Pesto with Penne

Avocado Pesto

  • 1 bunch fresh basil
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 avocados, pitted and peeled
  • 2 Tbs fresh lemon juice
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1/2 extra virgin olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • fresh ground pepper

Make the pesto by combining basil, pine nuts, avocados, lemon juice, garlic, and oil in a food processor or blender.  Process until smooth.  Season generously with salt and pepper.

Serve with pasta, pizza, sandwiches, etc.

For more information about The Creative Kitchen Challenge, visit Things My Belly Likes

Coming up tomorrow, my adventure with Brussels Sprouts!

9 comments on “The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 4- Avocados

  1. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 3- Figs « Beyond The Green Door

  2. thingsmybellylikes
    June 15, 2012

    Love it, I’ve never used avocados in a pasta dish – you are broadening my culinary horizons! Excited to see the brussel sprouts experiment, they are my fav vegetable (weird I know)

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 15, 2012

      Good to hear 🙂

      Not so weird… I don’t know if I will rank them as my favorite, but I do quite enjoy them!

  3. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge Round-Up « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Cloches & Lavender
    June 15, 2012

    Sounds good.

    Cynthia

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 15, 2012

      Thanks!

  5. Karen
    June 16, 2012

    Your recipe sounds interesting and I have a very ripe avocado just begging to be used.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 16, 2012

      I would definitely recommend! I found the flavor (and the creaminess of the sauce) to be really nice!

  6. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 3- Figs « Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

