Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Elegant and Affordable: Lemon Garlic Shrimp

Lemon Garlic Shrimp

You might be saying “How does shrimp fall into the ‘affordable’ part of this category?  The biggest thing that I’ve learned to do with seafood is watch for specials!  Find a seafood counter that you trust that carries a fresh selection.  Watch for different fish to be in season and for prices to go down.  Another plus with shrimp is to peel and devein them yourself — this will usually be a lower price point than purchasing the shrimp already peeled, etc.

This is a really flavorful but fairly simple way to prepare shrimp.  The lemon and garlic marinade make these perfect for sauteing in a pan like I do with this recipe, or throwing on the grill!  Serve them with vegetables and rice, or over pasta would also be tasty!

Lemon Garlic Shrimp

  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined (I always do these two steps myself to save a few dollars)
  • 3 lemons, plus 1-2 more for garnish
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • Kosher salt
  • Cracked black pepper
  • 2 Tbs butter

Juice 3 lemons into a large zip-lock bag.  Add minced garlic, and salt and pepper to taste.  Make sure marinade is good and combined.

Add shrimp to zip-lock bag, shake together, and set in refrigerator for at least one hour.  The longer it marinades, the stronger the flavor.

Heat butter in large saute pan.

Add shrimp to pan, creating a single layer of shrimp.

Cook for 3-4 minutes and flip each shrimp over.  Cook for another 2-3 minutes or until done.

Serve with lemon wedges.

29 comments on “Elegant and Affordable: Lemon Garlic Shrimp

  1. Leah
    February 19, 2013

    Mmm, I love lemon garlic with any seafood!

  2. Jo
    February 19, 2013

    Sounds delish! I agree with your advice to watch the specials. Our favorite shrimp goes on sale (some) Fridays only for $5 a pound. That’s when we stock up. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

  3. Sarah
    February 19, 2013

    Looks yummy!

  4. Pride in Photos Photography
    February 19, 2013

    beautiful…I never thought about garnishing them with limes…I always do lemons. Great idea.

  5. Cloches & Lavender
    February 19, 2013

    Sounds fantastic, I would love this for spring or summer.

  6. erika
    February 19, 2013

    Wow, this sounds so simple but flavorful! I’m always so scared to cook fish/seafood in general, but you make this sound easy! Definitely bookmarking for later–I think this would be fab with some avocado pasta!!

  7. Home Seasons
    February 19, 2013

    We love to get fresher shrimp to devein ourselves too! It’s a little more work, but they seem to taste so much better!

  8. moderndayruth
    February 19, 2013

    I don’t eat shrimps , but i love it how you arranged them!

  9. gentlestitches
    February 19, 2013

    Elegant and affordable. My kind of recipe. I love lemon and garlic so instead of “throwing a shrimp on the barby” as usual, I am going to do this and add a bit of pizzazz. Australia day is just over but we have another big weekend coming up in a few weeks which will involve a few barbies by the sea. Yay! : )

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 20, 2013

      It’s a simple marinade but it really adds a lot to the flavor! Think you’ll really enjoy it 🙂
      Kenley

  10. thethinkingcloset
    February 19, 2013

    My hubby is the one in our household who loves all things seafood (I’m slowly growing in this area), but I think I might have to attempt to make these for him for his bday or Christmas or something. I’d be speaking his love language. Thanks for sharing, girl! You’ve got impressive culinary skills.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 20, 2013

      Thanks Lauren! And I think your husband will really enjoy these! And if you did it with a pasta and a bunch of veggies, you could eat pasta and veggies and leave the shrimp for him (or try one…lol)
      Kenley

  11. Karollyn's World
    February 20, 2013

    looks delicious! i love schrimps n garlic ❤

  12. gotasté
    February 21, 2013

    You know I love simple recipes like this. Lemon and garlic marinate sounds so good for grilling or broiling. I will try for sure. Thank you for sharing Kenley.

  13. tableofcolors
    February 21, 2013

    This looks very delicious! I should give your recipe a try, I’m still a bit of amateur when it comes to seafood!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 21, 2013

      Thanks! Hope you like it! And to me, the trick with seafood is to just make sure to watch your cook times. They go from done to overdone quicker than other meats.
      Kenley

  14. petit4chocolatier
    February 21, 2013

    Kenley, I love shrimp. And this is perfect! Love the lemon!!

  15. Pingback: Elegant and Affordable: Shrimp Beurre Blanc with Brussels Sprouts | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

