Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Zucchini Chips — Let the Inspiration In Challenge

Baked Zucchini Chips

I haven’t done a  Let the Inspiration In Challenge in awhile and when I saw The Humble Foodie‘s recipe for Zucchini Chips, I knew that they would be a perfect little treat to go with our dinner last night!  Now, part of the inspiration challenge is to take something and have inspire you to make it your own.  Well, to be honest, there was nothing I wanted to change in this delightful recipe!  Make sure to check out their original post HERE.  🙂

Zucchini Chips — from The Humble Foodie

  • 2 zucchinis
  • 1/4-1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Cut zucchini into thin slices, about 1/4 inch thick.

Mix together cheese and spices in one bowl.  In a separate bowl, put the milk.

Individually dip the zucchini first into the milk, and then into the cheese mixture, coating on both sides.

Lay out on a coated rack and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until golden and crispy.  I put them on a cooling rack on top of a cookie sheet that had parchment paper when baking so that both sides were able to get cooked at the same time.

Enjoy!

For more information about the origins of the “Let the Inspiration In Challenge”, visit A Taste of Morning!

23 comments on “Zucchini Chips — Let the Inspiration In Challenge

  1. wifemeetslife
    August 9, 2012

    I really, really wish I liked zucchini. I mean, really. I keep trying to make myself enjoy it, but it’s a no-go every time. This sounds good; maybe I’ll use a different, more palatable veggie…

    • Beyond The Green Door
      August 9, 2012

      Haha. So what is it about zucchini that you don’t like? Do you like others in the squash family?

      Perhaps eggplant as a substitute?

  2. I love zuchinni – or courgettes as we call them in UK – and this is a great way of cooking them a little differently.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      August 9, 2012

      I think that’s what I liked about this recipe. We eat zucchini a lot but it is generally just steamed or roasted. This was a great and fun alternative!

  3. Cloches & Lavender
    August 9, 2012

    I think I am going to try these out they look and sound so good!! Great recipe

    Cynthia

  4. pillowsalamode
    August 9, 2012

    Yum! And they’re gorgeous in that amazing bowl! 🙂

  5. cooking with audrey
    August 9, 2012

    love it. did you see my zucchini pizza strips?! seems we both like to experiment with food 😉 http://foodandfoto.com/2012/07/11/zucchini-pizza-strips/

  6. Jayne on Weed Street
    August 10, 2012

    Finally! A recipe that might encourage my husband NOT to wrinkle up his nose at the sight of a squash or zucchini!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      August 10, 2012

      Yes, cheese and/or frying seems to help all veggies find their way into the mouths of the reluctant! I hope your husband (and you!) will enjoy!

  7. sybaritica
    August 10, 2012

    Excellent presentation!

  8. Marcella Rousseau
    August 18, 2012

    This sounds delish! I do something similar but fry my zucchini and then I mix it with pasta. I like your parchment version. I need to use parchment paper more. Thanks for sharing!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      August 21, 2012

      I have found parchment paper to be such a great and useful kitchen tool! I also use it when making certain kinds of loafs of bread or pound cakes so that they pop right out of the pan!

      • Marcella Rousseau
        August 24, 2012

        I’ve been using aluminum foil for so long, it’s going to be hard to get used to using parchment paper. I have used it when I make pizza. It makes it easier to slide the pizza on my pizza stone, paper and all.

      • Marcella Rousseau
        October 18, 2012

        I have spent several hours trying to find this comment about parchment paper. I couldn’t remember who encouraged me to use parchment paper. I have it, I am just over-reliant on aluminum foil and plastic wrap. However, after our conversation, I began using it more and I am SO pleased with it that I had to track you down to thank you. It saves me a big messy cleanup when I make roast chicken and when I make popcorn in the microwave, kernels don’t pop through the paper as they do when I used plastic wrap. ;- )

      • Beyond The Green Door
        October 18, 2012

        This comment made my day! I’m so happy that it has become a staple in your cooking processes! I love parchment paper! It also works so great with baking! I put it under a loaf of banana nut bread and after baking the whole loaf beautifully pops right out of the bread pan looking perfect!

      • Marcella Rousseau
        October 18, 2012

        I’m going to try to remember that hint too. it is great! It just goes to show that you CAN teach an old dog new tricks! ; – ) thanks again!

      • Beyond The Green Door
        October 19, 2012

        It was my pleasure! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

