Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

“Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings, These are a few of my favorite things”

I would love to include “Bright Copper Kettles” among my favorite kitchen things.

But, alas, at this time I can’t.

HOWEVER, I decided to mention my current top 5 favorite things in my kitchen that makes life cooking just so much more wonderful.  I got the inspiration to do this from Wife Meets Life, who did a post awhile back on her favorite things in her home that Make Her Life Easier.

These are some current favorites and are not to dismiss the greatness of my KitchenAid, or the simple necessity of my wooden spoons.

1. SALT CROCK

Le Creuset Salt Crock

I absolutely LOVE having a salt crock!  I keep it by the stove and it is wonderful for adding a pinch of salt here and there when needed.  Ours happens to be from Le Creuset but I think the biggest thing is having a container of kosher salt that is easily accessible and open so that you can cook and season more with ease!

2.  KITCHEN SCALE

Kitchen Scale

Our kitchen scale is one of the wonderful things that ‘L’ gave me for Christmas this past year.  I never knew how important having a scale in the kitchen could be.  Now I’ll never not have one.  If you get one, you want to make sure to look for a couple features.  I’ve found the option of using either standard or metric increments to be very helpful (then I can use any recipe without consulting a conversion chart).  You also want to make sure your scale has a “zero out” feature.  Otherwise you’re stuck having to subtract the weight of the bowl or vessel that you are putting your ingredients in.

3.  DUTCH OVEN

Red Dutch Oven

I’m really not sure what I ever did before my dutch oven.  The consistency in which it cooks is fantastic.  And anything that is versatile and can be used on either the stove top, or the oven, is always a big plus in my book!  I use it for almost everything.

4.  DIGITAL COOKING THERMOMETER AND TIMER

Digital Cooking Thermometer

Gone are the days of slicing into meats to check if they are done.  Or overcooking a turkey or chicken because you left it in too long and wasn’t sure whether the whole bird was cooked.  As much as I love using this in the kitchen (notice the long cord so that it can be put into the meat in the oven and then stuck onto the outside of the oven door with the magnetic strips), ‘L’ absolutely loves having this when grilling!  Whether it be burgers, steaks, pork chops, or whatever — everything is done to perfection now!

5.  MILK BOTTLE

Glass Milk Bottle

Neither of us are milk drinkers.  We have milk in the house for cooking.  That’s it.  Well, that generally meant that our milk would go bad pretty quickly.  Most of the milk sold in the stores down here have these flimsy caps that don’t seal well and make the milk turn a lot quicker than it should (as in two to three days after opening).  Luckily, World Market had the solution we were looking for (plus it was under $6).  This glass milk bottle has a wonderful cap and seal that keeps the milk fresh for weeks.  Plus it is really cute!

6 comments on ““Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings, These are a few of my favorite things”

  1. wifemeetslife
    August 9, 2012

    Thanks for the mention! I love top ten lists! On a side note: the pictures for that post are broken, but I’m fixing them tonight.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      August 9, 2012

      Cool. I noticed that when I went to grab the link. Wasn’t sure if they were broken, or if you had just decided not to migrate them over. Glad to hear that they will be going back up. 🙂

  2. veryhungrypiglet
    August 10, 2012

    Great idea…. i love my creuset too!

  3. playfulandhungry
    August 10, 2012

    It’s funny…. everyone in Europe has a kitchen scale, it’s something essential. If you don’t have one… you probably don*t have a kitchen either! For people from the US or Canada it’s something special… well, I lived in both places, so I don’t care that much. But I actually prefer to use the scale and metric measurements cause it more precise…

    • Beyond The Green Door
      August 11, 2012

      Yeah, it is funny. Before I had it, I really didn’t think too much about it but now that I have a scale, I can’t imagine any kitchen not having one…

Let me know what you think!

