Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week In Review: Mothers, Foodie Adventures, and a Cover Squirrel

Cover Squirrel

When I first saw this image I laughed and smiled, and immediately thought of my best friend.  We used to love to quote the Cover Girl makeup slogan when we were in college.  I think this squirrel totally captures it! 🙂

This Sunday is Mother’s Day!  I just want to take a moment to wish all the moms out there a very special day!  You deserve it!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thinking of hosting a brunch to honor your mother?  Here are some delicious options to consider:

Individual French Toast Bakes

Figgy Streusel Cake

Buttermilk Pancakes

Homemade Hash Browns

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blackberry Citrus Mimosas

Strawberry Lime Delight

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This week I discovered through a blogging buddy the most incredible dream vacation for foodies!  Foodie Adventures come from Chef Michael Salmon and Mary Jo Brink who own The Hartstone Inn in Camden Maine.  The adventure is a week long trip to either Tuscany or France (next year they are adding Spain) in which you visit food related places (cheese makers, wineries, markets, etc.) as well as work along side Chef Michael in preparing what looks like FANTASTIC culinary treats!  I encourage you to check out Lulu’s Musings and read about this awesome adventure she is having!  I know I find myself daydreaming about when L and I can take one of these trips!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

writepromoteblogpost

For all of you fellow bloggers out there, and even those who aren’t, this blog post by Gigi Ross of Kludgy Mom is absolutely hilarious.  It is a bit long but so very worth the read!  How to Write and Promote a Blog Post

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Elegant and Affordable:  Fried Deviled Eggs

Wordless Wednesday — The Bloom Stands Alone

Brunch Basics:  Strawberry Lime Delight

26 comments on “Week In Review: Mothers, Foodie Adventures, and a Cover Squirrel

  1. leaner by the lake
    May 10, 2013

    Totes checking out the write and promoting blog post link!

  2. leaner by the lake
    May 10, 2013

    “Like your own FB update.” BAHAHAH

  3. Megan
    May 10, 2013

    Have a great weekend, friend! I am going to have to make those French toast bakes sometime soon–and definitely bookmarked the blog post link!

  4. Home Seasons
    May 10, 2013

    Loving all the brunch options! The french toast bakes will be great for Mother’s Day!

  5. apuginthekitchen
    May 10, 2013

    So cute, love that squirrel!! Love the brunch idea’s.

  6. now at home mom
    May 10, 2013

    Thank you Kenley for wishing us moms a happy weekend and ideas for breakfasts to honour moms! 🙂 ha!ha! love the cover squirrel, I used to quote the cover girl makeup slogan too with my best friend when we were kids ha!ha! … easy, breezy, beautiful cover girl ha!ha! yep! the squirrel has posed well 😉 Hope you will have a great weekend too!

  7. Cover Squirrel is adorable.

  8. gentlestitches
    May 10, 2013

    Thanks for the happy mothers day wishes. 🙂

  9. That post on “How to Write & Promote a Blog Post” was hilarious…and had so many elements of truth. Thanks for sharing! And that squirrel is just too cute. Love me a good animal meme. Happy weekend to you, Kenley!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 13, 2013

      Thanks Lauren! Glad you liked the article…and the squirrel! 🙂 Hope your weekend was great!
      Kenley

  10. lulu
    May 11, 2013

    Kenley, you are a sweetheart to mention the Foodie Adventure. I hope you and your hubby seriously consider one. It’s a wonderful experience.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 13, 2013

      Oh I’ve been talking with him about them — and I really think we will do it sometime! Sounds like something right up our alley. 🙂
      Kenley

  11. Cul de Sac
    May 11, 2013

    I may be late in noticing… but I love seeing a picture of you!!!! you look soooo great and beautiful! Love 🙂

  12. Peri's Spice Ladle
    May 11, 2013

    Great brunch options! I’m eyeing the blackberry citrus mimosas! And look forward to great laugh with the blogging article:)

  13. Kenley….this article was hilarious!!!! Unfortunately in the beginning of my blogging journey…this could of described me…sigh. Thanks for sharing.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 14, 2013

      Hehe! Glad you enjoyed it Laurie… and yeah, I found a couple things that looked pretty darn familiar to my beginning as well! 🙂

Let me know what you think!