Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Brunch Basics: Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Coffee cakes make such a nice breakfast when coupled with fruit, as you can see I did above, or even just on their own.  I have always found sour cream based coffee cakes to be so moist and delicious.  The addition of brown sugar and walnuts, as well as a light vanilla glaze makes it perfection.  This recipe comes from the Betty Crocker Cookbook and is one of my favorites.

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream
  • Brown Sugar Filing (recipe below)
  • Vanilla Glaze (recipe below)

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease bottom and side of a bundt cake pan with shortening or cooking spray.

Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; set aside.

Beat sugar, butter, vanilla and eggs in large bowl on medium speed until creamed.  Beat about one fourth of the flour mixture and sour cream at a time alternately into sugar mixture until blended.

Make Brown Sugar Filling by mixing the following ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts (or other nut if you prefer)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Spread one-third of the batter in greased pan, then sprinkle with one-third of the brown sugar filing; repeat twice.

Bake for 1 hour, or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes in pan on wire rack.  Remove from pan and cool another 20 minutes.  Drizzle with Vanilla Glaze.  Serve warm or cool.

Vanilla Glaze

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tsp milk

Mix all ingredients until smooth and thin enough to drizzle.

18 comments on “Brunch Basics: Sour Cream Coffee Cake

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    September 26, 2012

    This looks and sounds wonderful. I will have to give it a try.

    Cynthia

    • Beyond The Green Door
      September 26, 2012

      Thanks Cynthia! 🙂

  2. Imelda Evans
    September 26, 2012

    Mmm, tasty! More baking is one of the things that I’d like to do when I’m offline!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      September 26, 2012

      Yeah, I love to bake! And I never feel like I do it enough 🙂 Hoping that October allows you to do it more!

  3. Chris
    September 26, 2012

    That looks so good. I need to get a Bundt pan. 🙂

    • Beyond The Green Door
      September 26, 2012

      They are quite useful — though the one I have actually needs to be replaced. I think this was its last baking experience 🙂

  4. Marcella Rousseau
    September 26, 2012

    I was wondering why this recipe seemed familiar to me. Then it hit me, I also own a Betty Crocker Cookbook and yes, I’ve made this before. The last time I made it, I overcooked it a bit. My bundt pan is metal and I either need to lower the temperature or take it out of the oven 10 minutes sooner. I have all the necessary ingredients; I just need the time to do it!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      I’ve done that before with metal pans… so tricky getting the timing “just right”! Hope you feel inspired to try it again! 🙂

  5. petit4chocolatier
    September 26, 2012

    This looks so scrumptious. You do a wonderful job with a bundt cake! Triple yummy!!!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      Thank you so much for the sweet comment (pun very much intended!) 🙂

  6. wifemeetslife
    September 27, 2012

    This looks fantastic! I’m putting it on my list of things to try. if you can believe it: I’ve never made coffee cake before. Obviously it’s been some gross oversight on my part…

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      Oh yes indeed! Perhaps you could do a pumpkin-inspired coffee cake with all the lovely things you’re doing with pumpkins lately! 🙂

  7. thingsmybellylikes
    September 30, 2012

    I love using sour cream in cakes – it’s the perfect baking tool because it makes it so moist. Love the idea of getting my morning coffee in cake form 🙂

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      Hehe 🙂 Yes, sour cream to moisten cakes is such a wonderful thing!

  8. Unwind Cooking | CA Realtor
    October 1, 2012

    Oh wow, that looks awesome!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      Thank you!!

  9. Pingback: Holiday Entertaining Tips: Don’t Forget Breakfast for Overnight Guests « Green Door Hospitality

  10. Pingback: Week In Review: Mothers, Foodie Adventures, and a Cover Squirrel | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

