Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 3- Figs

Brown Turkey Figs

After conquering mussels on Day 1 and cremini mushrooms on Day 2, both with such great success, I thought that figs would be a breeze for my next entry for  The Creative Kitchen Challenge.  Figs actually now hold a very special place in our hearts because we planted a fig tree in the backyard as part of our wedding ceremony.  (More on that later).  With the knowledge that we will hopefully have a good, fruit bearing tree in a year or so, it was time to start acquainting myself with the art of cooking with figs.

I picked up some Brown Turkey Figs.  They are milder in flavor that a Mission and have a bit of a sweeter taste.  Their skins are a purplish-copper color with pink and white centers.  The ones I got were a bit on the softer side since I was going to be mixing them into a batter.  However, generally speaking good tips for selection and storage of figs (according to Cooking Light Magazine, August 2009):

  • Choose figs that are plump and heavy for their size and yield slightly with gentle pressure.  The skin will be smooth, and the fruit fragrant.
  • Purchase fresh, ripe figs; the fruit doesn’t always ripen well once harvested.
  • Handle figs carefully to avoid damaging the delicate skin.
  • Store figs in a single layer on paper towels; they will keep refrigerated this way, covered with plastic wrap, for about two days.

After a couple savory dishes during this challenge, I was ready to do something sweet.  I chose to do a recipe out of Cooking Light called ‘Figgy Streusel Muffins’.  Currently I don’t have a big muffin pan, only one that makes mini muffins.  So instead I did this as a cake, which ended working out fine.  I was a little nervous about the batter which ended up with more of a dough-like consistency when I added the wet mixture to the dry.  (Not sure if perhaps I misread something).  However once baked, it actually turned out just the way it should.  It made for a nice coffee cake to have this morning as breakfast!

Fig Streusel Cake

Figgy Streusel Cake  —The Complete Cooking Light Cookbook, 2000

  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 2 Tbs finely chopped walnuts
  • 1 Tbs unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped fresh figs (about 3/4 lb)
  • 1 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 3 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine first 5 ingredients in a bowl; set aside.  Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife.  Combine flour and next 4 ingredients in a large bowl; make a well in center of mixture.

Combine figs, buttermilk, oil, vanilla, and egg.  Add to flour mixture, stirring just until moistened.

Spoon batter into 18 muffin cups coated with cooking spray (or into a 9′ x 13′ cake pan); sprinkle oat mixture evenly over muffins (or cake).  Bake at 400 degrees for 18-20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Remove from pans immediately, and place on a wire rack.

For more information about The Creative Kitchen Challenge, visit Things My Belly Likes

Coming up tomorrow, my adventure with the Avocado!

6 comments on “The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 3- Figs

  1. thingsmybellylikes
    June 14, 2012

    You are amazing, I can’t believe you are coming up with such delicious, unique recipes every day. You win at the Creative Kitchen Challenge. Sadly I don’t have anything to award you with accept my admiration.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 14, 2012

      Your admiration will do just fine!! Thanks! I’m having a great time with it! Have actually come up with a running list for revisiting the challenge in the future (though I think I’ll need a few weeks to crawl back into my rut before I do this again! lol)

  2. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge Round-Up « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 2- Cremini Mushrooms « Green Door Hospitality

  4. Pingback: Holiday Entertaining Tips: Don’t Forget Breakfast for Overnight Guests « Green Door Hospitality

  5. Pingback: Week In Review: Mothers, Foodie Adventures, and a Cover Squirrel | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

