Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 7- Artichokes FIRST TRY

Whole Artichoke Hearts

Some save the best for last.  For The Creative Kitchen Challenge, I saved my most dreaded for last!  The Artichoke.  Very pretty and very tasty, these vegetables have always struck fear in me when it comes to the idea of cooking them.  After yesterday’s experience, I am STILL afraid.  Things did not go well…

I thought it would be fun to try a Fried Artichokes recipe and then couple it with a nice homemade dip.  I figured it would be fairly easy and I could come away with a yummy appetizer for “L” and I to eat.  I was wrong.  In all fairness, I think it is my fault and not the recipe.  I ignored science.  The recipe called for heating the oil to 350 degrees.  I didn’t have any oil available in the house other than extra virgin olive oil.  I know that olive oil doesn’t have a high smoke point and should not be used for this kind of frying, but I didn’t want to make a special run to the store.  The results were artichokes that ended up flash burning upon contact with the oil, while parts of the breading fell off in the oil.  All in all, a failed attempt.

Things started off ok…

Artichoke Heart Cutting Board

And then took a turn for the worst…

Burnt Fry Oil

Burnt Artichoke Chips

So, first attempt at preparing artichokes didn’t go so hot.  But I still have one extra artichoke left.  And I’m not giving up.  I am determined to consume yummy artichokes that have been made by my own hands!  So tonight, it is round two!

For more information about The Creative Kitchen Challenge, visit Things My Belly Likes

13 comments on “The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 7- Artichokes FIRST TRY

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    June 18, 2012

    OMG one of my favorites!! I love them especially when in season. I use frozen ones when they are not in season.

    Cynthia

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 18, 2012

      Yeah, I love eating them too! I think that is why I am DETERMINED to make this work! I was already planning on making fish this evening so I might do a hollandaise sauce for the “do over” artichoke experience. Wish me luck!!

      • Cloches & Lavender
        June 18, 2012

        I use them with chicken or I saute them with garlic and olive oil with a bit of red pepper glakes. Awesome. They carmalize.

      • Beyond The Green Door
        June 18, 2012

        Oh that sounds wonderful!!

  2. putneyfarm
    June 18, 2012

    Hi, without seeming self-serving- try this:

    http://putneyfarm.com/2012/05/03/fried-baby-artichokes/

    You need baby artichokes for frying- much better results. Otherwise steam the big artichokes then split them and grill them for a few minutes with salt , pepper and olive oil and a spritz of lemon juice…

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 18, 2012

      Thanks so much for the tip–and for your recipe!! I will make sure to pick up baby artichokes for my fried “do over” and will utilize my big artichoke in a different way!

  3. petit4chocolatier
    June 18, 2012

    Please don’t be afraid to try again. I have never eaten fried artichokes and never thought of searching for a recipe to fry them. But it sounds like a great taste alternative. I cannot wait for your re-try of success!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 18, 2012

      I am determined to conquer the artichoke!! 🙂 Look at the comment from Putney Farm and their fried artichoke recipe… baby artichokes work better, so that is a really good tip! So, tonight I’ll be doing something a bit different with the big one so I can still complete my 7 day challenge!

  4. thingsmybellylikes
    June 18, 2012

    Ignore science at your peril! I actually love this post – not everyone is brave enough to post their failures. Also I like how your photos tell the story…and now I’m off to read Artichokes Part II: THE RETURN 🙂

    • thingsmybellylikes
      June 18, 2012

      Oops, what I thought was Artichokes Part II was actually a lovely lavender recipe….well, I’m excited for the artichoke post anyway 🙂

    • Beyond The Green Door
      June 18, 2012

      Haha, thanks! It definitely was an experience! Tomorrow, I am hoping there will be a better ending to “Return of the Attack of the Killer Artichokes” 🙂

  5. Pingback: Wedding 103: Details – Favors « Green Door Hospitality

  6. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge: Day 6- Lavender « Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

