Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Ingredient Spotlight: Garlic

Garlic

I love garlic!  It might even be my valentine! Seriously, if you peruse through Green Door Hospitality you will find garlic in well over half of the recipes.  And what’s not to love!

In addition to adding flavor and taste to so many delicious dishes, garlic is very good for you.  It is said to lower cholesterol and blood pressure, which helps prevent heart disease.  Garlic eaters are also said to suffer fewer incidents of stomach cancer and stroke.

And of course…. garlic will help prevent the risk of vampire attack. 🙂

 

Buffet the Vampire Slayer

Garlic alters in flavor depending on how it is prepared and for how long it is cooked.  Crushed garlic — either raw or briefly cooked — is the most pungent and strong flavored.  A whole head of garlic that is slowly roasted, on the other hand, is going to have more of a mellow, nutty flavor to it.

When purchasing garlic, make sure that they are firm and round with a clear,  papery skin.  Avoid those that are ready to sprout.  Give the garlic a squeeze and if you feel hollow skins where cloves should be, don’t purchase it.  And a little side tip — elephant garlic is actually not true garlic and is in fact more closely related to the leek.

Garlic should be stored in a cool, dark place.  They shouldn’t be stored in the refrigerator.  Unbroken heads can be kept for two months.  Once the head has been breached, individual cloves will keep for seven to ten days.

Below are a sampling of some great dishes from Green Door Hospitality that include garlic.  Simply click on the image to be taken to recipe!

Garlic Parmesan Peppercorn Dressing

Lemon Garlic Shrimp

Tomato Balsamic Soup

Red Potatoes with Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette

Steamed Mussels in Wine and Garlic

Beer and Bacon BBQ Sauce

Sausage Linguini with Garlic Red Pepper

 

6 comments on “Ingredient Spotlight: Garlic

  1. apuginthekitchen
    February 13, 2014

    Garlic is a key ingredient in so many recipes, almost every recipe I see has garlic in it. When I lived in Italy, a shop near my house made a garlic sandwich, I never quite developed a taste for that, it was a bit much but I do love garlic and use it all the time. Great spotlight on an essential ingredient,

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    February 13, 2014

    I love the taste of garlic but I don’t like to eat it so I usually crack the garlic. I sauté it in olive oil for the flavor and then take it out. It bothers my stomach for some reason. That shouldn’t be since I am Italian. Italian cooking doesn’t always use tons of garlic anyway. Not where my family was from.

  3. the Painted Apron
    February 13, 2014

    My favorite way to use garlic is to roast it and spread it on flatbread or pizza, and I love the way it fills your whole house with such a heavenly aroma! Your cartoon is hilarious!
    Jenna

  4. thethingaboutjoan
    February 13, 2014

    I’m only a recent convert to garlic, so it’s gotta be the roasted stuff for me. Learning to like it more and more.

  5. Pingback: Week in Review: Sharing the Love, Kindness, and Food! | Green Door Hospitality

  6. Pingback: NetNewsledger.com -

Let me know what you think!