Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Lunchtime Hospitality: Tomato Balsamic Soup

Tomato Balsamic Soup

Is there anything better than a cup of tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch on a cool fall day?

Well, I hate to admit it but I have never been really big into tomato soup.  My husband, on the other hand, loves it.  So I have searched and searched for a recipe that would allow us both to enjoy it.  Eureka!  By roasting the vegetables in a delicious balsamic marinade and adding heavy cream at the end I am now a tomato soup convert!!  It’s creamy and savory with a wonderful depth that I always felt was a bit missing with some other tomato soups.

Tomato Balsamic Soupmodified from Cooking Light Magazine

  • 1 cup vegetable broth, divided
  • 1 Tbs brown sugar
  • 3 Tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1 cup yellow onion, coarsely chopped
  • 5-7 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 28 ounces whole plum tomatoes, peeled (fresh or canned)
  • Cooking Spray
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • Cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Kosher salt, to taste

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Combine 1/2 cup broth, sugar, vinegar, and soy sauce in a small bowl and whisk together.

Place onion, garlic, and tomatoes in a baking pan coated with cooking spray.  Pour broth mixture over vegetables.  Bake for 40-50 minutes or until vegetables are lightly browned.

Pour tomato mixture into a blender.  Add remaining 1/2 cup broth and the cream.  Season with pepper and salt.  Process until smooth.  If necessary, strain mixture through a sieve to remove any solids.

Garnish with Homemade Croutons and shredded Asiago cheese if desired.

30 comments on “Lunchtime Hospitality: Tomato Balsamic Soup

  1. thethingaboutjoan
    November 5, 2013

    Ha! I thought I was the only one who didn’t like tomato soup. I’ll have to give this recipe a try. Thanks for sharing!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 7, 2013

      Ha…well, I’m glad we can bond together on this!! Let me know if you try the soup and like it. 🙂
      Kenley

  2. Megan @ Pink O'Clock
    November 5, 2013

    This looks SO good! Soup is just the best.

  3. Caitlin @ The Siren's Tale
    November 5, 2013

    Do you make croutons from home, or do you purchase them? The croutons on this soup look delicious.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 7, 2013

      Thanks! And yes, I make my own. If you click on the hyperlink of the ‘Homemade Croutons’ in the recipe, it will take you to the post where I show how to make them. 🙂
      Kenley

      • Caitlin @ The Siren's Tale
        November 7, 2013

        Oh boy… DUH! Clearly you can tell my brain isn’t plugged in correctly today. Thank you for directing me to the recipe!

      • Green Door Hospitality
        November 7, 2013

        Oh not a problem at all! 🙂 (And seriously Caitlin, half the time I wonder if my brain is plugged in all the way!)

  4. Fig & Quince
    November 5, 2013

    Tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich is my idea of heaven so I don’t need any coaxing where that’s concerned but I DO love your creative improvisations. Love the idea of balsamic vinegar with it. gotta try!

  5. the Painted Apron
    November 5, 2013

    We have the opposite problem, I love it he hates it! This sounds so deliciously different I can’t wait to try this to see what he thinks! Thanks Kenley!

  6. Cloches & Lavender
    November 5, 2013

    This sounds so different and so good!!

    Cynthia

  7. Adore that you added in balsamic! I had a monster tomato soup and grilled cheese craving last week that hasn’t yet gone away. Going to try adding this ingredient into mine, too!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 7, 2013

      I think my cravings ALWAYS seem to include grilled cheese! That and soup is one of our favorite simple meals in this house! 🙂

  8. gentlestitches
    November 5, 2013

    I agree that tomato soup can be a bit meagre. If I serve soup it fills my son up too much and so it needs a bit of oomph! This looks good!

  9. Penny L Howe
    November 5, 2013

    Fantastic! this looks and sounds delicious Kenley! Thanks for this one! 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 7, 2013

      Thanks Penny and thanks so much for tweeting! 🙂

      • Penny L Howe
        November 7, 2013

        Always a pleasure for you and your recipes are great too! I like passing them on! 🙂

  10. Sarah | For the Love of Chow
    November 5, 2013

    Love the balsamic. Genius!

  11. kalamitykelli
    November 6, 2013

    This looks fantastic and of course I am a huge soup fan. Pinning!

  12. Alicia Johnston
    November 7, 2013

    Oh yum. Tomatoes + balsamic are such a good combo, but I never would have put them in soup together! Adding this to my winter recipe plans.

  13. Pingback: Low Carb Tomato Soup with Ham and Cheese Sandwich | Night Owl Kitchen

  14. Pingback: Easy Tomato Soup | The Great American Feast

  15. thegreatamericanfeast
    November 26, 2013

    I am totally obsessed with adding balsamic to everything so I am not quite sure why it never occurred to me to add it to tomato soup. I will have to scour up some tomatoes here in Minnesota to make this bad boy.

Let me know what you think!

