Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Brunch Basics: Biscuits and Gravy

Homemade Biscuits and Gravy

Falling in love and marrying a Texan means needing to learn how to make good biscuits and gravy.  So I turned to the person who has taught me so much when it comes to sauces and the science behind them.  Because it is true that a good sauce isn’t just an art, but a science as well.  And since Alton Brown is the ‘Bill Nye the Science Guy’ of the cooking world… I looked to Good Eats.  This thick, meaty gravy coupled with Buttermilk Biscuits is a meal all on its own.  But it would also be great served as a brunch buffet.  Make the biscuits a bit smaller and place in a pretty basket and then put the gravy in a nice dish for guests to ladle out over their biscuits.  Just adjust the recipe for the number of people you are serving.  (This recipe serves 4).

Sawmill Gravy — from Alton Brown, Good Eats The Early Years

  • 1 lb bulk breakfast sausage
  • 1 1/4 oz flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Buttermilk Biscuits

Crumble the sausage in a large skillet.  Brown over medium heat.  Remove cooked sausage  to be set aside and pour off all but 2 Tbs of fat.  **If there is not enough fat to make up 2 Tbs, use butter to complete the complete measurement.  It is very important to have the correct ratio of flour to fat in order to make the roux.

Whisk the flour into the fat in the skillet and cook over medium heat for 2-3 minutes.  Continue whisking so not to burn the roux.

Turn off the heat and whisk in the milk a little bit at a time.

Turn back on the heat to medium-high and whisk occasionally while the gravy comes to a simmer and thickens (about 2-3 minutes).

Crumble the cooked sausage into the gravy.  Season with a little salt and lots of pepper.  **Depending on your preference you can either add the entire amount of cooked sausage or hold some back if you would like less meat in your gravy.  If you don’t use all of it, save the remaining for later use.

Serve hot over Buttermilk Biscuits.

38 comments on “Brunch Basics: Biscuits and Gravy

  1. austinurbangardens
    July 9, 2013

    Yum!

  2. apuginthekitchen
    July 9, 2013

    I love biscuits and gravy and white gravy is probably my favorite. I love that you used sausage. It has to be so delicious!!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 9, 2013

      Thanks! Yes, the sausage really brings out some great flavor and gives it a nice “zip” and spice.
      Kenley

  3. You can never go wrong with Alton! Looks delicious!

  4. moderndayruth
    July 9, 2013

    Oh, i get it – gravy is the Béchamel sauce, right? (Only you use oil/grease instead of butter.) It must be delicious!

  5. I didn’t start appreciating gravy til I worked at summer camp. Biscuits and gravy was the one meal of the day when the campers were all totally grossed out (point one for northern Virginia not really being part of the south), so I could FINALLY eat my fill! I grew to love them and they’re one dish for which I will throw paleo caution to the wind in a hot second. These look delicious- I hope your husband appreciates those delicious cooking efforts!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 12, 2013

      Ha, so true. No paleo substitutions ever for this dish! 😉
      And yes… L very much appreciates it. 🙂

  6. tableofcolors
    July 9, 2013

    Looks like a delicious and substantial brunch menu item! I’m sure that the sausage really works well with the sauce!

  7. Cloches & Lavender
    July 9, 2013

    This looks great for brunch!!

  8. Home Seasons
    July 9, 2013

    That looks like one hefty gravy! Yum!

  9. winedownaustin
    July 9, 2013

    Yummy! I like sausage in gravy too. I’m a Texas girl and gravy was served at almost every meal at my Meemaw’s house. Good stuff!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks! And yeah… it is so interesting cause growing up in Wisconsin I never really experienced much white gravy and the stuff I did was never that flavorful. Then I come down here and it is like WOW, this stuff is delicious! Love that you got to experience it all growing up! 🙂

  10. This looks dangerously savory. Would love to be invited to brunch, hint hint 😉

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 12, 2013

      Hehe… hint very much taken! And trust me…an invite is on its way! We want to get the fence finished and the garden beds built so you and A can see the exciting new garden! 🙂

  11. Christy
    July 9, 2013

    I’m a Southern girl and that looks delicious!

  12. Looks so tasty.

  13. gotasté
    July 10, 2013

    I totally agree that there is a lot of science in making a good sauce. Our grandma’s just seem to know them all while i am still trying to get my basics right. And I will want to try this gorgeous recipe 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks Danny! My grandma was the same way….she could make gravy out of nothing and it was always amazing. 🙂
      Kenley

  14. the Painted Apron
    July 10, 2013

    You know what Kenley, I have lived in the South for 40 years now and it’s about time I step up and make some sausage gravy and biscuits! I trust you and Alton so I am going to give your recipe a try! Thanks!
    Jenna

  15. Karen
    July 10, 2013

    Being a Texas girl myself, I think you did a great job.

  16. Penny L Howe
    July 11, 2013

    Hi Kenley. My absolute favorite breakfast, since, like forever! And I feel the same way about Alton, Your “like” button isn’t liking me this morning, but I’ll leave and come back in again and it should pop up for me. This recipe is wonderful. What a good Texan you are, lol! 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks so much Penny! And thanks for the twitter love!
      It actually showed up that you liked it so hopefully everything is working fine now. 🙂
      Kenley

  17. Pingback: Week in Review | Green Door Hospitality

  18. Pingback: Week in Review: Food Photography, Farmers Markets, and a Crazy Bunny Lady | Green Door Hospitality

  19. Pingback: Blogging One Year and Counting | Green Door Hospitality

  20. Leonora
    November 18, 2013

    Love this recipe. I made it a month ago for the very first time and my whole family loved it. I am making it again right now. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

