Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week In Review: Golden Girls, Consumerism, and Food Revolution Day

Happy and You Know ItHappy Friday Everyone!

AND…. Happy Food Revolution Day!  (And a big thanks to Miss Marzipan for cluing me in to this!)

So what is Food Revolution Day??  I’ll tell you…or rather I will have them tell you. “Food Revolution Day on 17 May is a global day of action for people to make a stand for good food and essential cooking skills. It’s a chance for people to come together within their homes, schools, workplaces and communities to cook and share their kitchen skills, food knowledge and resources. Food Revolution Day aims to raise awareness about the importance of good food and better food education for everyone by focusing on three simple actions – cook it, share it, live it. The first Food Revolution Day took place on 19 May 2012 with more than 1,000 events in 664 cities across 62 countries.” (Sourced from Food Revolution Day website)

Check out the Food Revolution Day website for activities going on all over the world.  But even if there isn’t something going on in your area, you can still take part.  Just cook something!! 🙂  Have some friends and family over.  Share in making some good, homemade food!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Speaking of good, homemade food…I am personally declaring this dessert week!  All of the delicious recipes from other bloggers that were beckoning me to link to are dessert related.  So make sure to check these out to satisfy your sweet tooth!

Chai Chocolate Pots from Things My Belly Likes

Dark Chocolate and Raspberry Cake from A Taste of Wintergreen

Salted Pecan Coffee Cake with Maple Glaze from Welcome Company

Peach and Strawberry Popsicles from In.gredients

Almond Bread Pudding with Salted Caramel Sauce from Forks Up

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nowadays there seems to be a Phone App for everything.  Some of them seem to be silly and pointless.  Some are fun –like the app that Megan over at Pink O’Clock shared that allows you to add borders, fonts, etc. to your phone photos.  And some will go a long way in advancing our consumer knowledge of what kinds of products we buy and where those products come from.  If you are not already aware of this, check out the Forbes article that discusses BUYCOTT, a new app that allows you to scan product bar codes to determine what company produces it and who owns that company.  From what I’ve heard they are still working out a few bugs, but I am excited about the concept of becoming a more educated purchaser.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Betty White Jedi

I love the Golden Girls.  And what’s not to love.  The crazy and fun hijinks of four older women living in Florida –brilliant.  So when I saw this on BuzzFeed, I just had to share!  28 Ways You Identify With Dorothy From The Golden Girls 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Elegant and Affordable:  Creamy Lemon Asparagus Soup

Impromptu Entertaining:  Meyer Lemon Bars

Ingredient Spotlight:  Zucchini

Wordless Wednesday — Shadows Fall on the Stable

Homemade Staples:  Pecorino-Black Pepper Bread Sticks

Guest Post on Gourmet Veggie Mama:  Classic Mojitos

30 comments on “Week In Review: Golden Girls, Consumerism, and Food Revolution Day

  1. A Taste of Wintergreen
    May 17, 2013

    What a great post Kenley. Love love love the dinosaur!! And thank you for the link. You’re a shining star. Lindy xx

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 17, 2013

      Thanks Lindy! There is something about a T-Rex and it’s short arms that just cracks me up!
      And it was my pleasure!
      Kenley

  2. thingsmybellylikes
    May 17, 2013

    Thanks for the shout out Kenley and a happy Food Revolution Day to you! Any day that celebrates home cooking and real food is a winner in my book. Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. mmmarzipan
    May 17, 2013

    Awesome post, Kenley! Thank YOU 🙂 xx

  4. Thanks for tipping me off to the Buycott app. I will DEFINITELY have to check that out! Hope your weekend is great! See you soon 🙂

  5. I’m loving Food Revolution Day – homemade is always best as is any time spent in the kitchen. You always find the most interesting stuff and I love how you link to and share other bloggers – something I am going to start doing on a weekly basis too. You’ve inspired me and it is fun to share! Thanks for sharing my grandmother’s coffee cake today – especially since I am fighting a spring cold and am not going to get her banana bread posted like I’d promised.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 17, 2013

      You’re quite welcome Danielle! I love your grandmother’s coffee cake recipe, such great flavors!
      And I appreciate the kind words and so glad I could help to inspire you! 🙂
      Kenley

  6. Pingback: Spring cold I don’t need you in my life and I want to break up! | Welcome Company

  7. Home Seasons
    May 17, 2013

    Hahah, the t-rex made us laugh! Definitely liking the sound of a whole week of desserts!

  8. Pingback: HAPPY FOOD REVOLUTION DAY! | Miss Marzipan

  9. Never heard of it but it a great concept and idea for everyone.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 20, 2013

      Thanks! I learned about it only a couple weeks ago — but apparently it is a year or two old. Love the concept as well!
      Kenley

  10. apuginthekitchen
    May 17, 2013

    Food Revolution Day is a great idea, and I love dessert week, great links. Always enjoy the Golden Girls, that was so cute!

  11. leaner by the lake
    May 17, 2013

    I love me a good TREX joke so THANK you for that. Have you seen this site? http://trextrying.tumblr.com/

    Also, the BOYCOTT app sounds cool. Wonder how they’ll bring stewardship analysis into the equation.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 20, 2013

      That site is great Eileen! 🙂
      Yeah…very curious as to how the Buycott app will end up working in the long run. Love the concept and looking forward to the progression.

  12. thethingaboutjoan
    May 17, 2013

    I can’t believe I didn’t know about Food Revolution Day! That’s awesome! I watched Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution a couple years ago with my oldest son and my husband. I swear it made such a difference in our eating habits. Thanks for letting me know. I’m now off to cook breakfast burritos for dinner!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 20, 2013

      I haven’t watched Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution yet but given the kudos you just gave it, I will most certainly need to see it!
      Kenley

  13. Cloches & Lavender
    May 18, 2013

    Very interesting about Food Revolution Day! Thanks for clueing me in I never heard of it before this post.

    Cynthia

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 20, 2013

      Thanks Cynthia! I was very excited to hear about it a couple weeks ago, and to be able to pass it along to more people! 🙂
      Kenley

  14. now at home mom
    May 18, 2013

    super great idea, never heard of this before, glad you posted about this Kenley! 🙂 yummy for dessert week! 🙂
    Love the Golden girls too what a great show it was, I used to watch it with my mom, oh so many years ago! 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 20, 2013

      Thanks Ingrid! Glad I could introduce you to Food Revolution Day. And yeah — used to love watching Golden Girls too! 🙂
      Kenley

  15. Love learning about new apps, so thanks for the tips, Kenley. Also, I’m with you 100% on declaring dessert week! I definitely boast a sweet tooth, so thanks for catering to its needs. And boy, does it have needs!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 22, 2013

      Hahaha! Mine does too!! Usually it needs something a bit salty combined with the sweet — part of why I love that coffee cake recipe of ‘Welcome Company’ so much! 🙂
      Kenley

  16. Cathy @ Forks Up
    May 30, 2013

    Thanks, Kenley, for including us in your dessert week list.

Let me know what you think!