Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Homemade Staples: Pecorino-Black Pepper Breadsticks

Bread Sticks

Breadsticks are a quick and easy way to add a nice touch to your meal.  Also, once you have a basic recipe down you can modify with different herbs, cheeses, etc.  This recipe from Cooking Light Magazine incorporates Romano cheese and black pepper.  What to keep it vegan?  Omit the cheese and add more flour.  These would also be great using freshly chopped rosemary, oregano, or thyme!  Serve with any of our great Soups…or these also work well with our Fried Deviled Eggs!

Pecorino-Black Pepper Breadsticksfrom Cooking Light Magazine

  • 1/3 cup white flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup pecorino romano cheese
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
  • 5 Tbs water
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Combine flours, cheese, baking powder, and pepper in a medium bowl.  Add water and oil, stir until dough forms.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface and kneed lightly 4 or 5 times.

Divide dough into 12 equal portions, shaping each portion into an 8 inch rope.  Place ropes on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until bottoms are golden brown.

Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.  Store at room temperature for up to two days.

19 comments on “Homemade Staples: Pecorino-Black Pepper Breadsticks

  1. So yummy with a bowl of soup!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 16, 2013

      Indeed it would be! And thanks for the idea Laurie — I just added a link in the post to the ‘Soups’ page I had created with all of GDH’s soup recipes. 🙂
      Kenley

  2. Megan @ Pink O'Clock
    May 16, 2013

    I am such a sucker for a good breadstick and I LOVE the idea of adding rosemary to these. Yum!

  3. Cloches & Lavender
    May 16, 2013

    Rosemary would be an awesome addition to the breadsticks. Love it for summer!

  4. Home Seasons
    May 16, 2013

    Love breadsticks, especially ones already infused with cheese! I can eat a bunch of them in one sitting! :9

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 16, 2013

      Hehe! Yeah…I’m kinda the same way. That’s why I have my husband lock them up in the pantry, lol! 😉
      Kenley

  5. the Painted Apron
    May 16, 2013

    Now this looks right up my alley! I could happily eat just bread and cheese!
    Jenna

  6. gentlestitches
    May 17, 2013

    I love your blog. The culinary arts have never come easy to me and I have never really liked many types of foods yet somehow you seem to keep coming up with things that i know I would actually LIKE! I do have a question though.
    What is the difference between wheat and white flour? Also I like the way you suggest adding and omitting ingredients. Recipes intimidate me and I wouldn’t dream of altering them in case something went wrong. My family would love these sticks with the cheese out and the rosemary in! 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 17, 2013

      Thanks so much for your kind words! It makes me smile to think that I’m opening up culinary doors for you.
      In terms of your question about flour… White flour is more refined where wheat contains grains that have not gone through heavy processing. This means that there are more of the outer shell involved with wheat flour, making it denser and more heavy. That is why often times a recipe will call for a little bit of white flour added into the mix so that the bread maintains the lightness that is needed.
      Kenley

  7. gotasté
    May 17, 2013

    Oh kenley, I’m just looking for this recipe! How did you read my mind 🙂 These looks gorgeous. Can wait to have it with soup.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 17, 2013

      Thanks Danny! So glad that I could help you out. 🙂 And you’ll love them with soup!
      Kenley

  8. Pingback: Week In Review: Golden Girls, Consumerism, and Food Revolution Day | Green Door Hospitality

  9. now at home mom
    May 18, 2013

    you know these look easy to prepare, don’t know why but I have never thought of preparing these myself! love how you post these Kenley, you gave me a great idea now! 🙂

  10. This recipe is perfect for party finger foods. I am adding it to my party food list.

Let me know what you think!

