Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: Housekeeping, Dewars, and Healthy Recipes

Snowball Weight Gain

Ah, the first Week in Review for 2014!  As much as I enjoyed my hiatus to spend time with family and friends over the holidays, as well as get things organized for the new year — I am so happy to be back blogging!!

To start things off, I thought I’d give everyone a glimpse at how big little Dewars is getting.  He turned 8 months this week and looks more like a Scottie every day!

Dewars First HaircutGreen Door Hospitality will be following a posting schedule starting this coming Monday.  Looking forward and always working to better the blog, I want to make sure that certain types of posts are appearing week after week.  The schedule will be as follows:

Monday – Hosting With Green Door.  This will include Theme Parties, Hostess Gift Ideas, Table Settings, and overall Entertaining Tips.

Tuesday – Culinary Series.  The series includes Brunch Basics, Cocktail Corner, Elegant and Affordable, Homemade Staples, Impromptu Entertaining, Lunchtime Hospitality, Pantry Preserving, Potluck Stamp of Approval, and Simple Appetizer Alert.

Wednesday – Wordless Wednesday.  On Wednesdays all over the internet, bloggers post a photograph with no words to explain it on their blog.

Thursday – Ingredient Spotlight.  Learn about history, varieties, storage, and more of different ingredients.  Plus get recipe ideas.

Friday – Week in Review.  It’s an opportunity to share new ideas and articles from around the web including terrific recipes from fellow bloggers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eat Better Feel Better

Since in January, people are still being very conscious about what they are eating, I thought I’d share some great, fairly healthy recipes from other blogs.

Healthy Chicken Empanadas from The Siren’s Tale

Asian Infused Stir-Fry from Leaner By The Lake

Caramelized Pear, Butternut Squash and Red Onion from A Taste of Wintergreen

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts from ATX Love

Parchment Fish with Summer Squash from Food Snob Chronicles

Pomegranate-Pear Green Smoothie from Full and Content

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And if you’re interested in searching for more recipes out there on the web to stay healthy, Pinterest just made it easier for you!  They have refined their search abilities so that you can focus on your dietary needs.  Read more about it HERE!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Impromptu Entertaining:  Broccoli Cheese Soup 2.0

Impromptu Entertaining:  Cheddar Chive Biscuits

Wordless Wednesday — Berry Frost

Ingredient Spotlight:  Bleu Cheese

20 comments on “Week in Review: Housekeeping, Dewars, and Healthy Recipes

  1. the Painted Apron
    January 24, 2014

    It’s good to have you back Kenley! Your weekly topic schedule looks great~I’m looking forward to it!
    Jenna

  2. Caitlin | The Siren's Tale
    January 24, 2014

    Thank you for including my recipe, Kenley! Can I just say that I cracked up (and am still giggling) over the snowball cartoon? What a perfect laugh for a Friday.

  3. Time With Thea
    January 24, 2014

    I took a break just before Christmas and was able to focus on other things. It is nice to have you back. Looking forward to what you will be creating and sharing next! ~Thea

  4. Cloches & Lavender
    January 24, 2014

    He just gets cuter and cuter. I love the cartoon on top!!!

    Cynthia

  5. tinywhitecottage
    January 24, 2014

    Yay! You’re back! Love Dewars! He’s the cutest.

  6. lulu
    January 24, 2014

    I’m glad you are back, Kenley. It’s impressive that you’ve organized yourself to know what you are going to write about. I keep thinking about that but haven’t done it.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Thanks! I’ve been thinking about organizing my weekly writing for awhile now and so happy that I’ve finally made the commitment to do so. And of course announcing it makes me more accountable to keep with it. 😉
      Kenley

  7. gentlestitches
    January 24, 2014

    Awww! and squeeee! Dewars is just love on four legs! 🙂

  8. Adam J. Holland
    January 24, 2014

    Good to see you! And thanks for linking to my recipe. That one is a lot more popular than I thought it would be. (I love it, but I didn’t think there were that many people out there like me!) 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Thanks Adam! I’ve always been a big fan of fish with summer squash and I’m not surprised that it is a popular favorite with your readers!
      Kenley

  9. Pride in Photos Photography
    January 27, 2014

    The snowball joke is SO cute…except for it is my life. LOL! Girlfriend this is quiet the new schedule you are starting. I hope you don’t wear yourself out…we love you hear. Looking forward to seeing what this year brings.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Yeah…it’s kinda my life too Laurie! 😉
      I won’t wear myself out, not to worry. It will actually be better that I’ve got it organized so I can plan and schedule things ahead of time if I know that I’m going to have a busy week coming up, etc.
      Kenley

  10. A Taste of Wintergreen
    January 27, 2014

    So happy you’re back. Dewars is the greatest. Can he please do a post soon?
    Looking forward to checking out the bloggers and recipes you’ve included and of course – a giant thank you for posting mine. xo

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Thanks Lindy! And don’t worry, Dewars will always pop up here and there. He’s still in little chef training though so it might be a little bit before he’s writing a post. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

