Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Ingredient Spotlight: Bleu Cheese

Bleu Cheese

Bleu Cheese is one of those foods that fall into either the love or hate category with a lot of people.  Personally, I love it!  The flavors are sharp and a bit salty.  Many people that don’t like bleu cheese however, are not found of it because of the smell (which comes from the penicillium mold and bacteria that is encouraged to grow on the cheese).

BlueCheese_RobCottingham

But don’t let the smell, or the mold veins scare you away.  This cheese packs a great punch and I’ve found it to be a wonderful asset in recipes — especially because that distinctive taste doesn’t get lost when used as an ingredient (which can come in a solid wedge/wheel or crumbled).  Each bleu cheese has a unique aroma that can be enticing when properly stored and conditioned.  However, an overripe cheese will become quite unpleasant.

There are several different types of bleu cheese.  The cheese can be made with either cow’s, sheep, or goat’s milk.  Processes and milk type vary amongst different countries, allowing for over 30 varietals of bleu cheese.  Some of the most common and popular include Stilton from the UK, Roquefort from France, Gorgonzola from Italy, and Cabrales from Spain.  Do you have a favorite from either these four — or any of the other varieties?

Below are some great dishes from Green Door Hospitality that include varieties of bleu cheese.  Simply click on the image to be taken to recipe!

Bleu Cheese Dressing on Wedge

Truffled Mac and Cheese

Tiny Roquefort Popovers

Linguine and Spinach with Gorgonzola Sauce

Homemade Potato Chips with Bleu Cheese Dip

Balsamic Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Walnuts and Cranberries

Tossed Greens with Walnuts Cranberries, and Gorgonzola

13 comments on “Ingredient Spotlight: Bleu Cheese

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    January 23, 2014

    I have a recipe for biscuits with melted butter and crumbled blue cheese that goes in the oven. Everyone loves it and they can’t believe it has the cheese in the recipe.

    Cynthia

  2. gentlestitches
    January 23, 2014

    I have tried this cheese and it made my eyes water but my friends adore it. You have inspired me to give it another chance. It is school holidays here and we are off to the beach. It would knock everyone’s socks off if I turned up with your Tiny Roquefort Popovers! I will post if I do.:-)

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Yeah, it’s hard for some people to take…but I love that I’ve inspired you to give it another chance. The Roquefort Popovers might be a good way to try bleu cheese again since it “blends” in more with the popover.
      Kenley

  3. pepaulmier
    January 23, 2014

    In many of the cheese stores I have gone to, it has been pointed out to me that most women do not like blue cheese. I always wondered why? I love it.

  4. Sarah | For the Love of Chow
    January 24, 2014

    All of the Bleu Cheese, All of the time!!!

  5. the Painted Apron
    January 24, 2014

    I love bleu cheese any way any time! I love it on steaks and burgers! And on BLTs! The only time I don’t want it is for breakfast! The cartoon is hilarious~

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Steaks and burgers are a must for bleu cheese!! I’ve actually got a tenderloin recipe that includes bleu cheese that I’ll be posting down the road.

  6. Pingback: Week in Review: Housekeeping, Dewars, and Healthy Recipes | Green Door Hospitality

  7. kalamitykelli
    January 26, 2014

    I love bleu cheese – great spotlight!!

Let me know what you think!

