Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Silence found in Fellini — Let the Inspiration In Challenge Week 2

“If there were a little more silence, if we all kept quiet…maybe we could understand something.” Federico Fellini

I’ve always enjoyed Federico Fellini.  He was a great and important contributor to film.  He also is a part –through quotes and symbolism– of the movie ‘Under the Tuscan Sun‘ which is one of my top comfort films of all time.  So despite his amazing career, when I think of Fellini, the fist thing I think of is Lindsay Duncan’s character quoting his many wisdoms.

So, I got very excited when the Robin of ‘Bringing Europe Home’ spoke of Fellini and issued a challenge surrounding silence:

Do you have a story or a lesson that was learned in silence? Do you have a photo or poem that inspired quiet reflection? You are welcome to create a post using this quote as your inspiration, and please share the link to your post here.

How perfect for my week 2 entry of the ‘Let the Inspiration In Challenge’!

For me, there is nothing more silence-inspiring than nature.  The above picture was taken during a vacation that we took to Arizona last fall.  It is just below Jerome, AZ which is close to Sedona.  Staring out into the vastness was just breathtaking!  When I’m surrounded by the earth and sky, I am always able to feel peace and to come to terms with whatever might be on my mind.  So in honor of that, some of my favorite nature photos I’ve taken, and my deep love of The Beatles….

“And when the night is cloudy there is still a light that shines on me
Shine until tomorrow, let it be”

“I wake up to the sound of music, Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be”

“Let it be, let it be, let it be, yeah, let it be
There will be an answer, let it be”

“Let it be, let it be, let it be, yeah, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom, let it be”

For more information about the “Let the Inspiration In Challenge”, visit A Taste of Morning.

6 comments on “Silence found in Fellini — Let the Inspiration In Challenge Week 2

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    July 2, 2012

    Fantastic pictures. I love them especially the sunset sky..

    Cynthia

  2. bigsmileu1
    July 2, 2012

    Gorgeous pictures that fit the theme. You can just imagine the wonderous silence of the mountains. Great job! 🙂

  3. Robin Jean Marie
    July 11, 2012

    Beautiful! I’m so glad you joined in these challenges–you’ve given us all a treat.

Let me know what you think!

