Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week In Review: Spring Fever Hits Hard

Keep Calm and Grow Food

I’m obsessed.  Truly I am.  I have nothing but spring on the brain!  All I can think about is sunshine, gardening, and flowers.  And I’m not alone.  It’s an epidemic that  is sweeping the country.  Everywhere you look — whatever the current weather — people are talking about spring.

For all of you who are just as spring and garden-crazed as I am,  Find Out What Your Garden Name Is!  I’m Poppy Von-Red Cabbage! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Speaking of gardens…I can’t wait to plant mine!  Not only am I excited about getting my hands in the dirt, but I also can’t wait to enjoy the vegetables and herbs of our labor.  Here are some terrific recipes from fellow bloggers that have me garden inspired.

 Shaved Brussels Sprouts Salad from Forks Up

Sesame Broccoli from Aneelee

Asparagus Gruyère Tart from Cottage Grove House

Sugar Snap Pea Salad from Caramelized

Home Grown Squash with Tomatoes and Soft Buffalo Cheese from The Single Gourmet and Traveller

Fennel Artichoke Tart from The Salt Tooth

Cilantro Avocado Smoothie from The Celiac Chronicles

50 + Boozy Spring Cocktails from What Jew Wanna Eat (ok so totally not garden inspired but hey…spring cocktails!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks so much to Fig and Quince for tweeting one of my favorite Rilke quotes earlier this week!  Was so happy about it I had to make my own image for it using some spring shots from last year.

Spring Has Returned

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

This Party Calls for a Theme: Spring Garden Party

Casual Dining: Marinated Chicken Breasts with Cherry Tomato Risotto

Wordless Wednesday — Season’s First Plantings

Ingredient Spotlight:  Asparagus

14 comments on “Week In Review: Spring Fever Hits Hard

  1. We have spring at last in London too. It’s so great to have sun and warmth again and see everything coming to life in the garden. Many thanks for linking my recipe 🙂

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    March 7, 2014

    No spring here yet but it is warming up and our house is moving along so every thing is good for me right now. As long as there is no more snow!

    Cynthia

  3. Cathy @ Forks Up
    March 7, 2014

    Thanks so much for including us in your garden inspired recipe roundup, Jessica!

  4. apuginthekitchen
    March 7, 2014

    It doesn’t feel or look like spring yet here in NYC, still frozen. Last year we already had spring flowers bloomed. This year frozen tundra. Can’t wait, it cannot get here fast enough.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 12, 2014

      I hope it does for you! Even here in Texas things are late to bloom and trees are late to produce their spring leaves.

  5. tableofcolors
    March 7, 2014

    My garden’s name is: Iris Von Umbrella-tree 🙂 can’t wait to start planting!

  6. gentlestitches
    March 7, 2014

    Waterlily Von Pumpkinseed. Cocktails are essential! Alco or non alco!

  7. the Painted Apron
    March 9, 2014

    Conifer McMulch Bucket! Your name is much cuter! thanks for the cocktail round-up, some how I went straight to that part! 🙂

Let me know what you think!