Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Pantry Preserving: Lemon Chili Oil

Lemon Chili Oil

 

Sometimes when I’m making a recipe — whether following a recipe or making things up as I go — I like to add a little heat just to make things interesting.  With that, I’m what one would call a “wuss” when it comes to spicy foods and can’t handle “too much heat”.  This is why I like infused oils.  They can give a great boost of flavor without overwhelming either the dish or my taste buds.

Infusing your own oils is a great and easy way to save a few dollars instead of purchasing specialty oils that can be quite expensive.  However, you do want to make sure that the base olive oil that you start with is of good quality.  This recipe makes one pint.

Lemon Chili Oil – from The Art of Preserving

  • 2 cups extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 large lemons
  • 3-4 dried whole chilies
  • 1 bay leaf

Pour the olive oil into a small saucepan.

Grate the zest from the lemons directly into the pan, letting it fall into the oil.

Add the chilies and the bay leaf.  Clip a candy thermometer onto the side of the pan.

Heat the oil over medium low heat until the thermometer registers 200 degrees Fahrenheit.

Cook the oil for ten minutes making sure it falls between 200 and 225 degrees Fahrenheit.

Let cool slightly and using a funnel, pour the oil into a hot, sterilized bottle.

Cover tightly and store at room temperature for up to 2 months.

3 comments on “Pantry Preserving: Lemon Chili Oil

  1. apuginthekitchen
    September 23, 2014

    I too am a wuss when it comes to heat, I cannot eat anything thats too spicy. I do love infused oils and this sounds great, you are so right it adds flavor without an overwhelming heat.

  2. the Painted Apron
    September 24, 2014

    Are you back??? I’ve missed you 🙂 I am definitely a heat wimp, this sounds like the perfect way to add some subtle heat~
    Jenna

  3. chef mimi
    September 28, 2014

    I love love your ingredient list! This would be fabulous on a salad, too!

Let me know what you think!

