Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: Seafood, Petite Sirah, and The 80s

How People Dressed in the 80's

Welcome to a partly 80’s themed addition of Week in Review!  Any particular reason for doing an 80’s theme — nope, just feeling nostalgic! 🙂  So since we’re on the subject of the decade that brought us the Rubik’s Cube, Alf, and MTV — what were some of your favorite movies, music, television, and accessories?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you weren’t already aware, there is a search on the header bar for recipes by type.  It is a work in progress as I get pages built.  This week I have added a Seafood Section which includes great dishes like Shrimp, Tomato, and Basil with Penne Pasta, Lemon Baked Cod, and Steamed Mussels in Wine and Garlic.  In honor of creating this search page, I thought I would also share what some of my fellow bloggers are doing with seafood!

Shrimp Rolls from Mad Betty

Golden Beets with Smoked Trout and Dill from Mama’s Gotta Bake

Mofongo with Shrimp from The Unorthodox Epicure

Coquille St Jacques from A Pug in the Kitchen

Coconut Shrimp Tempura with Orange Marmalade Sauce from The Painted Apron

Spiced Batter Baked Fish Topped with Dill Pickle Yogurt Raita from Peri’s Spice Ladle

Shrimp Lo Mein from Oh Hey What’s Up

Flounder Gratin from Sarah Eats Austin

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In returning to our discussion of the tubular 1980’s, I was so excited to discover this In-Flight Safety Video from Delta Airlines!  Completely cracked me up.  And you’ll love the last scene if you’re a fan of the movie Airplane!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And finally, earlier this week was National Drink Wine Day.  In post celebration (or with the idea that EVERYDAY should be National Drink Wine Day), make sure to check out these Great Petite Sirah Suggestions from SAHMmelier and have your own P.S. I Love You party!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Elegant and Affordable:  Roasted Asparagus with Balsamic Browned Butter

Wordless Wednesday — Presidential Boyhood

Ingredient Spotlight: Oranges

16 comments on “Week in Review: Seafood, Petite Sirah, and The 80s

  1. lulu
    February 21, 2014

    Boy George for sure!!!

  2. the Painted Apron
    February 21, 2014

    ohmygoodness, how did I miss National Drink Wine Day???? I think everyday is a drink wine day 🙂 Thanks for the shrimp shout out Kenley! I loved the 80’s!

  3. Jo
    February 21, 2014

    I became a mother in the early ’80s and patterned my outfits on Princess Diana. I even wore hats which I have since given to a regional theatre for their costume shop. Highlarious! Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

  4. apuginthekitchen
    February 21, 2014

    Oh wow, I still love the music from the 80’s. Duran Duran, Tears for Fears, Culture Club, Morrissey, Depeche Mode, I could go on and on. The 80’s was my favorite. Love this theme! Thanks also for the shout out for my Coquille St Jacques very popular in the 80’s!!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 3, 2014

      It was my pleasure, Suzanne! And glad you enjoyed the flashback. Oh….and YES to every music group you mentioned!!!
      Jessica

  5. gentlestitches
    February 22, 2014

    My boy is a rubik’s cube whiz! I loved the shiny material jackets with HUGELY padded shoulders. To me the 80’s is Cyndy Lauper! 🙂 girls just wanna have fun! 🙂

  6. Peri's Spice Ladle
    February 22, 2014

    80 music! Love it…glad you brought back memories! Thanks for sharing the spiced fish with dill yogurt raita recipe, I’ve been hearing great feedback on it:)

  7. gotasté
    February 23, 2014

    I love the 80’s. Especially the songs then. Thank you for sharing this post Jessica. Warmly, Danny

  8. corrin
    February 26, 2014

    Thanks for including my post! You’ve got a great recipe archive going!

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2014 by in Week In Review and tagged , , , , , .
