Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: Menu Planning, Mushrooms, and Chicken Motives

Chicken Motives

Won’t that be a special and important time in our society??  Let’s all ponder that for a moment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, if we are done pondering we can move onto mushrooms.  It’s a great time to be eating mushrooms.  The savory earthiness of them is so fitting with winter cooking.  Here are some wonderful mushroom recipes from other great bloggers.

Aglio Olio with Porcini from Gotaste

Crepes Fourees with Dried Mushrooms from Chef Mimi

Decadent Mushroom Soup from Garden Walk, Garden Talk

Penne with Chestnuts, Mushrooms, and Bacon from The Single Gourmet and Traveller

Chanterelle Risotto with Truffle Butter from A Taste of Morning

Spinach and Mushroom Enchiladas from Gourmet Veggie Mama

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I want to thank my friend Eileen over at Leaner by the Lake for making me aware of this wonderful and creative YouTube video by Michael Pollan about How Cooking Can Change Your Life.  Pollan is the author of such terrific books as The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Cooked.

When you cook more at home, it is a great idea to do some menu planning.  Stuck on how to get started?  Make sure to check out Time With Thea’s Menu Planning Part 1 and Part 2.  She takes a great approach in her organization by creating theme nights that help both with menu ideas and planning around your family’s schedule.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And lastly, make sure to pop over to Things My Belly Likes when you get a chance and check out 10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Honey.  Very interesting facts and trivia.  Also making me hungry.  Excuse me while I go make myself a Homemade Biscuit and slather it with honey! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

This Party Calls for a Theme:  Birds of a Feather

Lunchtime Hospitality:  Beef Stout Stew

Wordless Wednesday  — Nowhere Meets Prada

Ingredient Spotlight:  Brussels Sprouts

20 comments on “Week in Review: Menu Planning, Mushrooms, and Chicken Motives

  1. thingsmybellylikes
    January 31, 2014

    Thanks for including me on the link round-up Kenley. Loved the cute short about cooking and I have my eye on the mushroom soup – bookmarking for sure! Have a great weekend, Cat

  2. Time With Thea
    January 31, 2014

    Thanks for the mention Kenley. I so appreciate you passing on my Menu Planning Using Themes approach! Have a great weekend! ~Thea

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 2, 2014

      You’re quite welcome Thea! It was great information to pass on! 🙂
      Hope you have a great weekend as well!
      Kenley

  3. thesinglegourmetandtraveller
    January 31, 2014

    Thanks for the link, Kenley. Have a good weekend!!

  4. tableofcolors
    January 31, 2014

    Your round-up was great and I agree 100% with the video. 🙂

  5. Cloches & Lavender
    January 31, 2014

    Great week in review!

  6. gentlestitches
    January 31, 2014

    HaHa! Love it! 🙂

  7. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    January 31, 2014

    I love the quote. Go chicken, go…

  8. P.E.A.C.E.
    February 2, 2014

    Belly-laughter ringing out! 😀 Thank you for another great post, from the opening image (such brilliance) to the great recipes. I’m inspired for my own menu planning! Thanks so much. Cheers, Gina

  9. Caitlin | The Siren's Tale
    February 3, 2014

    I adore these week in review posts! Not only do I get to double-check to make sure I didn’t miss a post from you, but I also get to read about other fun things going on around the web! I’m heading over now to watch the YouTube video shared with you by Eileen {love her blog!}. Thanks for sharing, Kenley… have a happy Monday!

  10. gotasté
    February 9, 2014

    Hello Kenley! Thank you for linking me up to your round up. I am truly honored. Sorry for this very late comment. I am so busy at work since I moved to Hong Kong but I will always look out for your posts. Please keep them coming. Warmly, Danny

Let me know what you think!

