Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Lunchtime Hospitality: Beef Stout Stew

Beef Stout Stew

The weather outside is FRIGHTFUL, inside stew is so delightful!  Seriously, the weather has been awful for most of the United States.  Seems like the perfect time for some warm and hearty beef stew.  We are serving this soup with our yummy Cheddar Chive Biscuits!

And in case you weren’t aware, January is National Soup Month!  So if being vegetarian or vegan is preventing you from trying this soup — or if you just want some other options — make sure to check out our SOUP page with some delicious options for the colder weather.

Beef Stout StewInspired by Cooking Light

  • 2 Tbs canola oil, divided
  • 2 Tbs butter, divided
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 lbs boneless chuck roast, trimmed and cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 small yellow onions, chopped
  • 1 Tbs tomato paste
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 1 bottle of stout beer
  • Cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups carrots, diagonally sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups parsnips, diagonally sliced
  • 1 cups baby red potatoes, cubed
  • 2 Tbs parsley, finely chopped

Heat 1 Tbs oil in a Dutch Oven over medium high heat.  Add 1 Tbs butter to pan to melt.

Place flour in a shallow dish.  Dredge beef in flour.  Place half of beef in the pan and cook 5 minutes, turning to brown on all sides.

Remove beef from pan with a slotted spoon.  Repeat procedure with remaining 1 Tbs of oil, 1 Tbs of butter, and beef.

Add onion to the pan and cook for 5 minutes or until tender.  Stir in tomato paste and cook for another minute.

Stir in broth and beer, scraping the pan to loosen any browned bits.

Return meat to pan.  Season soup mixture with pepper and salt to taste.  Bring to a boil.

Cover, reduce heat and simmer 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

Uncover and bring to a boil.  Cook for 50 more minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add carrots, parsnips and potatoes.  Cover, reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes.  Stir occasionally.

Uncover and cook for another 10 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.

Sprinkle with fresh parsley and serve.

18 comments on “Lunchtime Hospitality: Beef Stout Stew

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    January 28, 2014

    This sounds good. I can make everything elaborate but never knew how to make stew, LOL. This sounds great. I will try this in the new kitchen! I haven’t looked but do you have a recipe for turkey chili??? Thanks.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 28, 2014

      Thanks Cynthia! You’ll definitely want to give it a try. And no, unfortunately I don’t have a recipe for turkey chili — or one for chili in general. Still in the beginning stages of playing around with that one.

  2. P.E.A.C.E.
    January 28, 2014

    This warms me up already! I too enjoy using a roast which I trim into cubes myself. But why do I keep forgetting to include parsnips?! Thanks so much for reminding me with this delightfully appetizing post. ~Gina

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 2, 2014

      Thanks Gina! I have also had the problem of forgetting about the lovely parsnip. Always have to remind myself of this great and versatile veggie!
      Kenley

  3. lulu
    January 28, 2014

    This sounds perfect for a really miserable day, but to make it I would have to go to the grocery store, so it will have to wait until another day!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 2, 2014

      Thanks! Hopefully the weather is a bit better there in Houston. We’ve been having ups and downs here in Austin and I find myself “stocking up” each time I go the grocery store.

  4. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    January 28, 2014

    I make beef stew a lot. It is a good meal in winter, especially this winter. I never added beer though, will have to try that.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 2, 2014

      We do a lot of stews in the winter as well. Let me know if you try adding beer the next time you make it and what you think. 🙂
      Kenley

  5. apuginthekitchen
    January 28, 2014

    Delicious stew, using stout in a stew makes it rich and so much tastier than without.

  6. A Taste of Wintergreen
    January 30, 2014

    Love this! I make a somewhat similar stew with Guinness in it – makes the best stew gravy ever! Stew has to be one of the highlights of winter.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 2, 2014

      I enjoy stew with Guinness as well! And I totally agree about stew being a great part of winter! 🙂
      Kenley

  7. the Painted Apron
    January 30, 2014

    This sounds really good, love the beer, I bet that gives it great flavor! We are still snowed in, ughhhh!

  8. The Healthy Epicurean
    January 30, 2014

    This stew looks seriously delicious – a bit like one I make with red wine. I must try it using stout though…

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 2, 2014

      Thanks! Hope you try it with stout sometime. I also make a different stew that I’ll be covering down the road that uses red wine which I love as well.
      Kenley

  9. Pingback: Week in Review: Menu Planning, Mushrooms, and Chicken Motives | Green Door Hospitality

  10. upsidediy
    February 4, 2014

    Perfect for this drizzly day we are having here! Delicious!

Let me know what you think!

