Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: Gandalf, Soups, and The Life of the Pumpkin

Gandalf the Pink

Yeah….it’s been that kind of week.  Forget Gandalf the Grey or even Gandalf the White.  I think we all need a little Gandalf the Pink this morning, complete with Hello Kitty wardrobe!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We are the type of family that eat soup all year round.  However, there doesn’t seem to be anything better than a steaming, hot, delicious bowl of soup as the cold weather sets in.  Pair it with a crusty French Baguette and you have the perfect meal!  I’ve been working on creating a whole list of satisfying soups that I’ll be making this fall and winter, including some of our favorites like Roasted Cauliflower Soup with Tarragon and Butternut and Shallot Soup.

To further get you in the soup making mood, here are some great concoctions from some of my fellow bloggers:

Broccoli Beer Cheese Soup from Full and Content

Spicy Creamy Curried Tomato Soup with Zucchini Noodles from Lucky Rabbit Recipes

Creamy Potato Leek Soup with Tangy Tarragon Drizzle from Field and Feast

Homemade Tomato Soup from Cottage Grove House

Golden Ale Vegetarian Chili from Frugal Feeding

Carrot Tarragon Soup from The Salt Tooth

Green and Aubergine Soup from Feed the Piglet

Minestrone from Putney Farm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As Halloween approaches and people get ready with costumes, party plans, etc. I thought it would be appropriate to share with you a very important staple in my Halloween traditions.  “The Life and Death of a Pumpkin” is a dark comedic look at what pumpkins go through during Halloween time.  It was created by Blame Society Productions (who also created the Chad Vader series).  I had the good fortune of working with Aaron and Matt (the creators) years ago while running a non-profit arts service organization in Madison, WI.  I’ve been a huge fan of this short film ever since and it’s tradition to watch it every year at Halloween.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Pantry Preserving:  Spiced Orange Fig Jam

Autumn Tablescapes:  Falling for Candlelight

Wordless Wednesday — Take Me With You

Elegant and Affordable:  Scalloped Potatoes with Leeks

15 comments on “Week in Review: Gandalf, Soups, and The Life of the Pumpkin

  1. apuginthekitchen
    October 25, 2013

    Oh my, can’t stop laughing at Gandalf in hello kitty pink, LOL!!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      October 25, 2013

      LOL! I know right! If he said “You Shall Not Pass” in that, would just burst out laughing and walk on by! 🙂

  2. Caitlin @ The Siren's Tale
    October 25, 2013

    Pink Gandalf? Oh my goodness, I’m roaring with laughter! Love it.

  3. Lisa
    October 25, 2013

    Thanks for including the link to my Broccoli-Beer-Cheese Soup!

  4. now at home mom
    October 25, 2013

    hilarious gandalf in pink! 🙂
    wish you a beautiful weekend Kenley! 🙂

  5. tinywhitecottage
    October 25, 2013

    Great post! First I started laughing at Gandolf, then I thought WOW about your Roasted Cauliflower Soup w/tarragon, then I felt honored your made mention of my tomato soup! Thank you! 🙂

  6. the Painted Apron
    October 25, 2013

    Can’t wait for your soup recipes! I couldn’t bear to watch the life and death of a pumpkin, I just adore pumpkins and they all have so much character and personality, I couldn’t bear to see one suffer!! I’ll try to toughen up and watch it!
    Jenna

  7. Pride in Photos Photography
    October 25, 2013

    well down here in Florida….I can’t bear to eat soups in the summer….but right now it is so delightful that a bowl of soup sounds so good.

  8. Johnnysenough Hepburn
    October 25, 2013

    Not even sure who Gandalf is supposed to be. But, can’t see him being taken seriously with Kitty on the front! How funny. Thank you for the link! There’s definitely a theme within several of your choices. Tarragon is something I can buy here but never use. I’ll have to try one of your suggestions!

  9. Christine
    October 25, 2013

    The Hello Kitty makes the picture! Thanks for the link, lady. And I’m going to check out some of those soups for sure.

  10. mmmarzipan
    October 26, 2013

    Love these weekly posts! And pink Gandalf is hilarious! 😀

  11. gentlestitches
    October 26, 2013

    OMG!! My son thought the video was hilarious!! I am glad our Halloween pumpkin is knitted after I saw that!!! LOL!

  12. Penny L Howe
    October 27, 2013

    I don’t know, I think Pink maybe Gandolf’s color! I mean he’s not exactly a blonde but his hair is white after all! Great pumpkin video, I don’t think I’ve ever felt sorry for a pumpkin before! And just so you know I’m trying the butternut and shallot soup, sounds delicious! Take care of you Kenley, glad I was able to stop by for a quick visit! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

