Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Pantry Preserving: Black Plum Jam

Black Plum Jam

Plum jam is a tasty and versatile preserve that can be used for both sweet and savory dishes.  Using plums for jam is similar to making Blackberry Jam…  there is enough natural pectin found so you don’t need to add any additional.  Most of the natural pectin is found in the skins.  The skins are also what give the jam its beautiful deep red color.  Due to allowing the plums to sit in sugar, this jam does take a bit of time to get ready.  However, as soon as the plums are ready to be put on the stove, this is a very quick and simple jam to make.

This recipe makes 7 1/2 pint jars (8 oz) and can stored in a cool, dark place for up to a year.

(And to see a recipe for a tasty Songold Plum Jam, pop over to Feed the Piglet!)

Black Plum Jammodified from The Art of Preserving 

  • 3 lbs black plums, pitted and cut into eighths
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

In a dutch oven, gently toss together the cut plums and the sugar.  Cover and let stand at room temperature for 5 hours. (You can also leave overnight in the refrigerator.  Just make sure to bring pot and plums to room temperature before putting on the stove).

Set dutch oven on the stove and stir in lemon juice.  Bring plum mixture to a boil over medium-high heat.  Reduce heat to medium and let simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring frequently.

If the jam is too chunky for your liking, turn off heat and utilize the immersion blender until desired consistency is reached.

Test for setting point by doing the wrinkle test.  (Take a chilled plate and add about 2 tsp of plum mixture to the plate.  Place in the freezer for 2-3 minutes.  Remove plate and push the mixture with either your finger or a fork.  If it wrinkles, it is set).

Ladle plum jam into sterilized jars, leaving 1/4 inch of space from the rim.  Wipe off any excess jam that may have spilled.  Apply lids and rings and tighten (fingertip tight).

Process the jars for 10 minutes in boiling water bath.

44 comments on “Pantry Preserving: Black Plum Jam

  1. thesinglegourmetandtraveller
    September 10, 2013

    Homemade plum jam … yum!!

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    September 10, 2013

    Yum, these would make a nice display for the holidays. Enjoy!!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 10, 2013

      I was thinking the same thing Cynthia! They turned out such a lovely color! Add a touch of ribbon and we’re good to go! 🙂
      Kenley

  3. Chris Whalen
    September 10, 2013

    Plums are one of my absolute favorite fruits. I’ve been thinking of jamming some up myself!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 10, 2013

      Other than the time to have them sit in the sugar, it really made for some quick and easy jam-making! Even with a little furry guy at my feet. 😉

  4. tableofcolors
    September 10, 2013

    Looks delicious!

  5. johnnysenough hepburn
    September 10, 2013

    This is great! According to my approx calculations you’re only using half the sugar like myself. And I bet you’re getting the perfect set. Interesting to read about letting the plums sit in sugar for five hours. Hadn’t read that before. And you’re processing the jars in a boiling water bath – again, that’s new to me. Great info. Shall include a link for this post within my next jam (if that’s okay), which is going to be Fortune plums with pears. And, thank you so much for linking mine 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 10, 2013

      Thanks for the future link. 😉
      I found the plums sitting in the sugar created such a nice syrup base going into the actual jam making.

  6. apuginthekitchen
    September 10, 2013

    I have an ongoing love affair with anything plums. Your jam sounds amazing, simple just the way I love it. Wish you had an online store, I’d buy a few jars.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 10, 2013

      Thanks so much Suzanne! And perhaps someday an online store will happen. In the meantime, just recipes. 🙂
      Kenley

  7. lulu
    September 10, 2013

    You have been busy in the kitchen as of late. I recently made you lavender preserves subbing blueberries for peaches. It worked and the result is quite tasty.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 10, 2013

      Ha, yes! Trying to be quite busy and get all this preserving down to an art form so that next year when we have our full garden, I can be EVEN busier!! (Keeping up with our harvests). I will definitely have to try blueberries the next time!
      Kenley

  8. Megan @ Pink O'Clock
    September 10, 2013

    This looks SO good (as all of your recipes do!). I really need to try making jam sometime…you make it look fun.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 10, 2013

      Thanks Megan! This would be a really easy one for you to try. And yes, preserving is fun! 🙂

  9. Mary Frances
    September 10, 2013

    That is a lovely color. Great way to use up extra plums. (I can’t only eat so many!)

  10. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    September 10, 2013

    I love plums and my mother-in-law is the one that makes preserves. Will pass this on.

  11. tinywhitecottage
    September 10, 2013

    Oh I wish I had a jar of this! I have never made jam before but I certainly want to try. So many steps but I can imagine it comes together fairly easily?

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 11, 2013

      It really does come together easy — more so than you might think. This (or the blackberry jam recipe I posted) would be a good one to start with if you would like to give jam a try. They are both less involved than some of the others. 🙂
      Kenley

  12. gentlestitches
    September 10, 2013

    a dollop of this on plain yogurt would be my idea of bliss!

  13. Alicia Jay (@aliciajaybird)
    September 10, 2013

    That silver plate looks lovely and the jam sounds perfect for a treat with yogurt (as someone mentioned above) or with fresh, homemade bread.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 11, 2013

      Thanks Alicia! Agreed! And thanks for the compliment on the plate — it was my grandmothers. 🙂

  14. Sarah | For the Love of Chow
    September 10, 2013

    Love the deep color of the jam! And I’m still waiting for piranha boy to get old enough so we can preserve something together soon 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 11, 2013

      Thanks Sarah! And YES! I think we just might be at that point. We should do some pear or apple butter (or both) as soon as they are in season. Is there a place around here to pick them or will farmers markets be the best place to get them?

      • Sarah | For the Love of Chow
        September 16, 2013

        Hmm I got most of my apples from Whole Foods and Wheatsville last year. I didn’t really scope too much at the Farmer’s markets, but I must do that. I went crazy over the variety of different apples at Whole Foods that I let my local radius expand quite a bit last year 😉

      • Green Door Hospitality
        September 18, 2013

        Hehe, Cool! Well we will have to buy up a ton of apples and pears and go nuts with the fruit butters! 🙂

  15. Pride in Photos Photography
    September 11, 2013

    Okay friend…this looks so yummy too. I have a question for you. How long would it take to drive from Austin to Houston? Someday I would love to meet you…♥

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 11, 2013

      Thanks Laurie! Houston is about 2 hrs or so depending on traffic (which can make it up to 3). I think that would be lovely. We have both family and friends that live in Houston so we have been meaning to get out that way for awhile now. 🙂

      • Pride in Photos Photography
        September 11, 2013

        Oh my, I was hoping more like an 1 1/2 hour…sigh. But when the time comes we will see what we can work out.

      • Green Door Hospitality
        September 11, 2013

        I think technically it IS 1 1/2 hr from city limit to city limit. It just all depends on where in Houston you would be at and traffic, etc. Honestly by Texas standards it is still pretty close, haha. We’ll figure something out. 🙂

  16. Valentina
    September 11, 2013

    I have not done a plum jam before and this is a good time to try it. Thank you for the recipe.

  17. now at home mom
    September 11, 2013

    I love plums and had so many of them today 🙂 this looks so delicious 🙂

  18. the Painted Apron
    September 12, 2013

    Looks amazing, never had freshly made black plum jam 🙂

  19. A Taste of Wintergreen
    September 15, 2013

    I love plum jam! When I lived in Melbourne, Australia – I was across from a walking trail on an abandoned railway line and there were plum trees all along the line. I picked pounds of them and made jam every year. You’ve made me all nostalgic … 😉

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 16, 2013

      Thanks Lindy! This was the first year to make plum jam, but it definitely won’t be the last for us! 🙂 Glad I could give you a bit of nostalgia! 🙂
      Kenley

  20. kalamitykelli
    September 15, 2013

    Isn’t Plum jam the prettiest?!?! Yous is awesome!

  21. Pingback: Jam – Fortune plum and Conference pear | Feed the piglet...

  22. Pingback: Reduced Sugar Jam – Pear and Plum | Flours n Dainty Buns

Let me know what you think!

