Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Pantry Preserving: Dilly Beans

Dilly Beans

 

A few weeks ago, I had the great opportunity to do a guest post for Susan over at The Foodette.  In case you didn’t get a chance to view it, here is our recipe for Dilly Beans.

Dilly Beans, otherwise known as ‘Pickled Green Beans’, is a great way to preserve those tasty fresh green beans that become abundant in our gardens and farmers markets.  They are delicious on salads or as part of antipasto platters.  My personal favorite though is serving them as a garnish with a Bloody Mary!
This recipe will make 6 one-pint jars and can be stored for up to one year in a cool, dark place.  For best flavor, set aside for two weeks before opening.
Dilly Beans — modified from ‘The Art of Preserving’

  • 3 cups distilled white vinegar
  • 6 Tbs kosher salt
  • 6 large, mature dill heads or 24 fresh dill sprigs
  • 1 1/2 tsp Aleppo red pepper flakes
  • 12 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 4 lbs green beans, washed and trimmed

In a large saucepan, combine the vinegar and salt.  Add 3 cups of water and bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring to dissolve the salt.

Meanwhile, in each jar, place 1 dill head (or 4 fresh dill sprigs), 2 garlic cloves, and 1/4 tsp Aleppo red pepper flakes.  Trim the beans so they are 1/2 inch shorter than the height of the jars.  Pack the beans as tightly as possible into the jars.
Ladle the hot brine into the jars, leaving 1/2 inch of head space.  Remove any air bubbles.  Wipe the rims clean and seal tightly with the lids.
Process the jars for 10 minutes in a boiling water bath.  Let jars stand for 24 hours undisturbed.
11 comments on “Pantry Preserving: Dilly Beans

  1. Karen
    September 5, 2013

    I’m passing this recipe on to my friend who has more green beans in her garden than she knows what to do with.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 5, 2013

      Wonderful Karen! Yes — green beans to me are like zucchini…when you have a good crop, you end up with more than you can possibly use. 😉

  2. leaner by the lake
    September 5, 2013

    This is a great tip – our CSA has been throwing us LOTS of beans and pickled ones would be great to pair with salads.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      September 5, 2013

      Definitely!! And then you don’t have to feel that you need to eat every green bean before they spoil. 🙂

  3. Geraldine
    September 5, 2013

    look so good!

  4. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    September 5, 2013

    I never heard of pickling beans. I bet they are tasty. I don’t drink Bloody Marys so will have to try them on salads.

  5. gentlestitches
    September 6, 2013

    I did see that. Mainly because beans and legumes are my fave food. It is true I just got a 3 pound bag of kosher cooking salt from America because we don’t have it here and my breadsticks were a bit salty. Next I might have to get Aleppo flakes because I can’t find them anywhere here either. I know they would be a hit.

  6. kalamitykelli
    September 6, 2013

    Perfect for football! They look so good!

  7. Caitlin @ The Siren's Tale
    September 6, 2013

    I swear I end up adding every recipe of yours to my Pinterest page of recipes to try! These look delicious. I’ve been wanting to can for awhile now, so this is the perfect addition to my recipe list so far!

Let me know what you think!

