Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: Peaches and the Vulcan of Love

Vulcan of Love

I love this image — combining my love of Spock and Steve Miller Band!  Happy Friday everyone!  Last week was so crazy that I didn’t even get a chance to do my week in review post — and gosh I realized how much I enjoy doing these!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, yesterday was “Eat a Peach Day”.  I love peaches and have enjoyed utilizing them in recipes such as our Peach and Blackberry Crisp, Bourbon-Seared Peaches, and of course our Peach Lavender Jam.  Whenever I think of peaches, my mind returns to 1996 and the song, “Peaches” by ‘The Presidents of the United States of America’.


With that, I thought I would do a round-up of some of the terrific peach recipes from my fellow bloggers!

Peach Buckle from Cottage Grove House

Roasted Peach and Coconut Popsicles from in.gredients  

Vegan Peach Pie from The Pancake Princess

Peach Pecan Ice Cream from MJ’s Kitchen

Peach and Tomato Gazpacho from Sparrow in the Treetop

Peach and Cilantro Salsa from Austin Urban Garden

Peach and Nectarine Crostata from The Painted Apron  

Grilled Peaches with Goat Cheese and Balsamic from A Time to Kale

Raspberry Coulis (with uses peaches) from Now at Home Mom

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wedding Tree Planting Ceremony

It is always such a pleasant surprise to look in the ‘referrers’ section of my statistics and see where my readers are coming from.  It is especially pleasant when I discover that I have been quoted and/or linked on someone else’s page.  Today I was happy to discover that our post describing our Wedding Tree Planting Ceremony was quoted and linked in an article on About.Com’s Wedding Traditions Section!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Delayed Blogging and Dewars the Bear 

Simple Appetizer Alert:  Jalapeno Cheese Dip 

Wordless Wednesday — Standing Tall 

Pantry Preserving:  Onion Marmalade 

14 comments on “Week in Review: Peaches and the Vulcan of Love

  1. now at home mom
    August 23, 2013

    🙂 Great roundup of peach recipes Kenley! I just went through some of them & bookmarked them! I want to prepare something tomorrow and need to pick up some ingredients 🙂 & thanks again Kenley for the shout out! 🙂
    wish you a beautiful weekend! 🙂

  2. tinywhitecottage
    August 24, 2013

    Thank you for the shout out! 🙂 I can not help myself to think of the PUSA too when I am making a peach dessert. Stuck in my head for hours!

  3. gentlestitches
    August 24, 2013

    HaHa! Loved Mr Spock. 🙂

  4. lulu
    August 24, 2013

    When I was 12, my next door neighbor taught me how to make a peach cobbler and I have never tried another though I have learned that other fruits or berries work just as well.

  5. the Painted Apron
    August 24, 2013

    Thanks for the shout out Kenley! Happy Eat a Peach Day!
    Jenna

  6. apuginthekitchen
    August 24, 2013

    Love that photo of Spock on the guitar, too cool!! Also, love peaches and have to check out those recipes,

  7. Alicia Jay
    August 25, 2013

    Congrats on the About.com link up! It’s nice to see your own lovely traditions and ideas being shared–and maybe passed on to another happy couple. 🙂

  8. Pride in Photos Photography
    August 26, 2013

    This is hilarious, how you combined the two!! I thought I had an active imagination♥

  9. emily
    August 26, 2013

    Yum, I looooove peaches! Thanks so much for including my recipe in your round-up. I grew up in Seattle in the 90s so of course I often think of that Presidents song, too. 🙂 And CONGRATS on being mentioned on About.com! That’s so exciting!

    xo Emily

  10. Valentina Author
    August 28, 2013

    So many things can do with peaches.
    I have nominated you with the Versatile Blogger Award. Go get it on my second blog site and enjoy it.
    http://valentinaexpressions.com/2013/08/28/saturdays-are-for-markets-by-valentina-cirasola-author-and-designer

  11. kalamitykelli
    August 31, 2013

    Wow! congrats on the quote – that’s awesome!

  12. Penny L Howe
    September 5, 2013

    This is great Kenley. “Things are going to start happening now”! (reference “The movie “The Jerk” and Nathan Johnson, lol). Congratulations on your About.com link, just excellent my friend. And peaches and Spock, love them both (for different reasons)! 🙂

    • Penny L Howe
      September 5, 2013

      Oops, I just realized I spelled his name wrong, Navin Johnson! It’s those little things that get to one. Have a great weekend coming up Kenley! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Love is all around us « Moxie Kline

Let me know what you think!

