Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Pantry Preserving: Dijon Mustard

Dijon Mustard

Mustards have got to be one of my all time favorite condiments!  Sandwiches, dips, grilled meats… there is so much one can do with a good mustard!  And as much as I love purchasing those cute little artisan mustards you find in specialty shops, mustard itself is not difficult to make at all!  This particular Dijon mustard is good and flavorful with just a bit of a kick to it.

The recipe makes 2 half pint jars and will keep in the refrigerator for up to a year.

Dijon Mustardmodified from ‘The Art of Preserving’

  • 1 1/2 cups dry mustard
  • 2 cups dry chardonnay
  • 1 sweet yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic finely chopped
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp kosher salt

In a bowl, stir together the mustard and 1/2 cup water until smooth.  Set aside.

In a medium saucepan, combine the wine, onion, and garlic.  Bring to a boil over high heat.  Reduce the heat to medium and stir in the sugar and salt.  Simmer, uncovered, until reduced by half — while stirring often.  This will take about 20 minutes.

Pour the wine mixture through a fine-mesh sieve into the mustard and stir until combined.

Transfer to the saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until thickened — about 20 minutes.

Spoon the mustard into the jars, leaving 1/4 inch of head space.  Remove any air bubbles and wipe the rims clean.  Seal tightly with the lids.

For best flavor, let the mustard stand for at least two weeks before using.

8 comments on “Pantry Preserving: Dijon Mustard

  1. Pride in Photos Photography
    August 15, 2013

    2 cups of chardonnay?…say it isn’t so♥

  2. johnnysenough hepburn
    August 15, 2013

    Can’t believe you’re making mustards, as well. Loving it. Especially as I have a recipe for a Sri Lankan mustard called Abba on my HD that I’ve never bothered to make. You are inspiring me to do so! Must make it as I adore mustards. And happen to like a bit of ABBA now and again 🙂

  3. Anika Kohon
    August 15, 2013

    I loooooove mustard as well. I’ve never made it before… but I just might have to now. This sounds delicious.

  4. now at home mom
    August 15, 2013

    oh! my! I LOVE mustard and I LOVE Dijon mustard Kenley! I can eat with almost everything (hubby thinks I’m weird) thanks for sharing this, I will be trying this for sure this weekend! 🙂 wish you a great weekend Kenley! 🙂

  5. Karen
    August 16, 2013

    This is the second mustard recipe I’ve seen this week. Since Dijon mustard is one of my favorite condiments (I even dip fries in it), I need to get cooking. 🙂

  6. kalamitykelli
    August 16, 2013

    My goodness! I want to make this and soon!

  7. Time With Thea
    August 19, 2013

    I never even though about making your own mustard. This is brilliant! ~Thea

  8. Jo
    August 20, 2013

    I would love to make our mustard. Thanks for the recipe and tips. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

Let me know what you think!

