Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Homemade Staples: Browned Butter Sauce

Browned Butter Sauce

The nutty flavor of a browned butter sauce is the perfect compliment to pastas, chicken, fish, etc.  For the dish shown above, I wanted to add a personal touch to some store-bought fresh ravioli (goat cheese and herb).  Walnuts and balsamic vinegar worked wonderfully with goat cheese.  Once you have the basic technique down you can play around with a variety of ingredients to make your dishes unique.  Sage is the most common addition to this sauce and we’ll talk about that in another post.  But play around with ingredients based on what you’re serving the sauce with.  Nuts, garlic, lemon, thyme, rosemary, oregano, ginger — the possibilities are endless.  Experiment with different flavor combinations to find what works for you!

Browned Butter Sauce

  • 8 Tbs (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • Cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Added ingredients for your particular sauce.

Melt butter in a sauce pan over medium-low heat.  Stirring occasionally, until the butter turns a rich golden-brown. Be careful not to burn the butter!  This is biggest trick of this sauce.  You want a rich, nutty taste of the browned butter.  But it will go from beautifully browned to burnt quickly.  This is not a sauce to set on the stove and walk away.

If utilizing nuts, add right after butter is melted to cook until the butter is browned.  For herbs and garlic, add about a minute or two into the process.

Immediately turn off the heat once the butter has browned. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and set aside.

**For the particular dish that I made in the picture, I used 1/4 cup chopped walnuts which I added right after the butter was melted.  Once the sauce was browned, I removed from the heat and seasoned with salt and pepper.  I then added the ravioli to the saucier pan, drizzled 2 Tbs of balsamic vinegar, and tossed to coat.  I served the ravioli with a Parmesan cheese garnish.

 

23 comments on “Homemade Staples: Browned Butter Sauce

  1. This looks heavenly!

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    July 11, 2013

    I loved browned butter sauce on chicken and pasta!!

    Cynthia

  3. leaner by the lake
    July 11, 2013

    Looks divine!!!

  4. Fae's Twist & Tango
    July 11, 2013

    Ah, just the sound of it… !!! I pour plain browned butter over pasta! Now I am going to try yours too!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks Fae! I agree! And I love that with just cooking one ingredient a specific way you get a totally different flavor than where it started from.
      Kenley

  5. thingsmybellylikes
    July 11, 2013

    Weirdly enough, I was just thinking about brown butter sauce this morning. Cheers for this, bookmarking for later use! Anything that makes butter better gets my vote 🙂

  6. now at home mom
    July 11, 2013

    looks delicious Kenley! 🙂

  7. the Painted Apron
    July 11, 2013

    I have made brown butter sauce with sage, but I can’t wait to add walnuts! You always share the greatest little secrets! Thanks,
    Jenna

  8. gentlestitches
    July 11, 2013

    This sounds delicious! I particularly like the sound of walnuts with the butter.

  9. No idea you could make a sauce out of butter!

  10. Pingback: Week in Review | Green Door Hospitality

  11. Pingback: Week in Review: Food Photography, Farmers Markets, and a Crazy Bunny Lady | Green Door Hospitality

  12. Our Adventure in Croatia
    July 12, 2013

    looks delicious, some for me please!!!!!!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      July 16, 2013

      Oh I so would if I could!! Perhaps when my husband and I finally make it to Croatia, I’ll make the two of you some! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Pasta with Brown Butter Sauce & Roasted Figs | blah blah birds

Let me know what you think!

