Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Simple Appetizer Alert: Goat Cheese Crostini

Goat Cheese Crostini

I love recipes with versatility.  There’s nothing better than having a basic recipe that can be modified to create several variations.  This is one of those such recipes.  For this tasty and simple appetizer I used garlic and fresh parsley.  However, the pairings with the goat cheese are practically endless!  But in the effort to not make this post endless, I’ll just name a few.  Feel free to chime in other combinations in the comments though!

  • Garlic and Parsley
  • Lemon and Thyme
  • Sun-dried Tomatoes and Kalamata Olives
  • Cilantro and Lime
  • Rosemary and Garlic
  • Honey and Thyme (this is what our dear friend Chris made as part of our wedding appetizers)

**When combining it with herbs, make sure to use fresh.  Dried herbs will get lost and their flavor won’t come through as well.

Goat Cheese Crostinimodified from Cooking Light Magazine

  • 4 ounces goat cheese, softened
  • 2 Tbs fresh flat leaf parsley, finely chopped
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, minced
  • French bread baguette

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut baguette into 1/2 inch thick slices.  Lay flat on a cookie sheet and toast in oven for 10 minutes.

Combine goat cheese, parsley, and garlic together in a medium bowl.  Stir until well combined and soft.

Spread goat cheese mixture evenly on baguette slices.

If desired, pop back into oven for 5-7 minutes to cook the goat cheese ever so slightly.  (This is my personal preference but it also tastes quite good without this last step).

38 comments on “Simple Appetizer Alert: Goat Cheese Crostini

  1. This could be such a great snack for Memorial day weekend.

  2. apuginthekitchen
    May 23, 2013

    Oh I love crostini, this is simple and you are so right very versatile. Delicious!

  3. Cloches & Lavender
    May 23, 2013

    Love so many of your suggestions and I would love them all but I am going to try the sun-dried tomato and olive one first. Love them both.

    Cynthia

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 26, 2013

      Thanks Cynthia! Hope you get a chance to try the sun-dried tomato and olive soon once you are all settled in. 🙂
      Kenley

  4. thethingaboutjoan
    May 23, 2013

    I’m with the first commenter — great idea for Memorial Day!

    Hey Kenley — do you grow your own herbs? If so, where do you have them — in a container garden, kitchen garden? I’m such a black thumb but I love fresh herbs too much not to try, try again.

    Have a great holiday weekend! ~Joan

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 26, 2013

      Thanks Joan!
      Yes, we do grow our own herbs. I find it so much easier than remembering to get them at the store. 😉
      We grow them in our vegetable garden in our backyard. Even for black thumbs, herbs are relatively easy to grow. Most don’t need ideal soil. They can be done in container or in a garden bed. (I would I highly recommend mint to be grown in a container since it is a “creeper” plant and will spread everywhere if you aren’t careful). I recommend starting off small and getting a feel for what works for you, and what you use the most of. The biggest thing is to read up on how much water and sunlight to give the plant.
      Have a great weekend!
      Kenley

  5. Peri's Spice Ladle
    May 23, 2013

    Simple and delicious appetizer, love all the combinations…and I’m going to chime in with two more! Mint, sea salt and cracked black pepper! Roasted red bell peppers and a dash of balsamic!

  6. SAHMmelier
    May 23, 2013

    A go-to….long shelf life, versatile, and complements do many wines.

  7. leaner by the lake
    May 23, 2013

    Now goat cheese I can do! I might top with some pickled beets, too!!

  8. Home Seasons
    May 23, 2013

    Oh my goodness! Look at all that cheese! This would be yummy with a side of the soup you made earlier this week :9

  9. Fae's Twist & Tango
    May 23, 2013

    Wow, this is incredible with all the aromatic and sweet and savory taste! 😀

  10. Megan @ Pink O'Clock
    May 23, 2013

    Loooove goat cheese! And love Eileen’s suggestion for topping these with pickled beets. These look fantastic.

  11. gentlestitches
    May 23, 2013

    This looks good. I love your recipes. They instill confidence in a “timid cook” and I am left thinking “I can do that!”I am going to make it for my friends with garlic and a little bit of chopped chili. Personally I would like it with garlic and black pepper. I will make two. I like pickled beets too.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 26, 2013

      Oh all of your ideas sound great!! And they are so easy that you can make several different varieties with no trouble at all.
      Thanks so much for the kind words. So happy that I can instill confidence! 🙂
      Kenley

  12. Yum. I love goat cheese. I will have to try this!

  13. johnnysenough hepburn
    May 23, 2013

    Have just made a tartelette, sort of, with the most delicious mild goats cheese with dried figs, prunes and walnuts. So good!

  14. now at home mom
    May 23, 2013

    looks very good, your sundried tomatoes and olives sounds very good! 🙂

  15. Pingback: Week in Review: Space Oddity, Poda, and Memorial Day | Green Door Hospitality

  16. looks delish!!

  17. gotasté
    May 26, 2013

    This is such a lovely recipe kenley. I can almost taste the goat cheese over here. Yum!!! …. Danny

  18. petite-chef
    May 27, 2013

    Miam! It looks really yummy! Come see my blog too! http://www.choupetamarie.wordpress.com

  19. corrin
    May 29, 2013

    Looks delish! Goat cheese is my favorite.

Let me know what you think!

