Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: Hats, Enchiladas, and the Celebration of Birth

Oldest I've Ever Been

Today happens to be a celebration of birth… My birth! 🙂  Today I turn 35 years old.  I have found that I love getting older.  Some people long for their younger days.  I look on those days and smile at how silly I was and then think in amazement how much I have grown as a person and how much more comfortable I am with myself.  We should never yearn too much for the past, nor spend all of our time wishing for the future.  Live in the present and appreciate all of the little things around you from day to day!

In addition to my birthday, this weekend also brings quite a few other celebrations and events!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It is the 139th Kentucky Derby!  Wow, what a lot of tradition and history surrounding this event!  And, of course, it is best –whether attending or not– to put on your best hat and sip on a Bourbon Mint Julep!  Here are some other fun things to check out:

Need a hat?  It might be too late for this year’s Derby…but get a head start for next year, or find that special hat for another fabulous occasion!  Chimeric Millinery has very fun hats made by my friend Susannah.

And here are some fun Kentucky Derby Party Printables from Hostess with the Mostess to add a fun little touch to your viewing party this weekend!  Printables

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cinco De Mayos

It is also Cinco de Mayo on Sunday!  Here are some great food recipes, margaritas, and tablescapes to get you in the festive spirit!  But first, check out this article by Adam at The Unorthodox Epicure that talks about the Distinction Between Mexican and Tex Mex Food, as well as providing a really tasty nachos recipe!

Sweet Potato and Chard Enchiladas from Gourmet Veggie Mama

Avocado Enchiladas – Enchiladas Bandera from Hilah Cooking

Coconut Tres Leches cake with Mexican Vanilla from Cookie Madness

Grapefruit Margarita from Green Door Hospitality

Blackberry Margarita from Green Door Hospitality

Cinco de Mayo Tablescape from The Painted Apron

Cinco de Mayo Tablescape Roundup from Home Seasons

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Homemade Staples:  Buttermilk Biscuits

Impromptu Entertaining:  Savory Mashed Potato Bake

Ingredient Spotlight:  Cilantro

Wordless Wednesday — Enchanted Paddling

Cocktail Corner:  Bourbon Mint Julep

Lunchtime Hospitality:  Meyer Lemon Granita

59 comments on “Week in Review: Hats, Enchiladas, and the Celebration of Birth

  1. thingsmybellylikes
    May 3, 2013

    Happy birthday Kenley! I hope you have a wonderful day and a great birthday weekend (when your birthday falls on a Friday it’s totally acceptable to celebrate all weekend long!). Incidentally it’s my hubs’ birthday today too! 🙂

    • Oh heck yeah it is a whole weekend celebration!! 🙂 And Happy Birthday to your husband as well! Gotta say…it’s a great day to be born. 😉
      Kenley

  2. now at home mom
    May 3, 2013

    YAY! Happy Birthday Kenley! 35 years old YAY! glad you feel great today! I hope you will get to celebrate your birthday with family and friends ! Wish a great weekend Kenley, enjoy, have fun! 🙂

    • Thanks Ingrid! Yes…much celebrating to be had! 🙂 Appreciate the birthday wishes 🙂
      Kenley

  3. Pillows A-La-Mode
    May 3, 2013

    Happy birthday, dear Kenley! And your words show a LOT of wisdom for such a young woman! 🙂 Hugs, Katherine

  4. Jo
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday. You’re still waaaaayy young so have a great time. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • Thanks for the birthday wishes Jo! Oh, and I know I’m still young… just old enough to not be “too young”! 😉
      Kenley

  5. I hope your birthday is so fantastic! Enjoy this lovely cool weather! Cheers!

    • Thanks Sarah! Though I don’t want it to be as “cool” as yesterday! WOW! That was pretty crazy and at least where we are, the wind was something TERRIBLE! But yeah — it should be a fun and great weekend no matter what! 🙂

  6. the Painted Apron
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday Kenley! Thanks for mentioning my Cinco de Mayo table, I can’t wait to try your blackberry margaritas, heaven!

    • Thanks for the birthday wishes Jenna! And it was my pleasure to include your cinco de mayo table! Hope you had some fun celebrations with yummy margaritas 🙂

  7. Happy birthday, Kenley!! Have a great time celebrating.

  8. Sarah
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday!!!

  9. Cloches & Lavender
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday Kenley!!! Have great time celebrating all weekend long!! Enjoy, enjoy.

    Cynthia

  10. Home Seasons
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday, Kenley! May your birthday be filled with cheers and happiness! & thank you for including our Cinco de Mayo tablescape post 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks so much for the birthday wishes! And it was my pleasure to include the Cinco de Mayo tablescape post! 🙂
      Kenley

  11. leaner by the lake
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday!!! So exciting! I love when mine falls over a weekend for prime celebration. I was just thinking about this the other day, that I’m really enjoying getting older and looking forward to my thirties. Cheers to you, today!

    • Thanks so much Eileen!! And I really think that you’ll enjoy your thirties quite a bit! I think they are the best 🙂

  12. HaPpY BirThDAy! I second your sentiments and can promise you (as I am just slightly ahead of you in) that life just keeps getting better and better! Have a wonderful weekend!

  13. Adam J. Holland
    May 3, 2013

    Thanks for the plug! And Happy 35th!

  14. apuginthekitchen
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday!! Have a wonderful weekend!

  15. Bernice
    May 3, 2013

    Happy Birthday Weekend Kenley! 35 is a fabulous age!

  16. Happy birthday Kenley. May the next thirty five keep you young at heart and mind too.

  17. cristinasandru
    May 4, 2013

    Happy Birthday to You, dear Kenley! 😀
    Wish you the best! Be happy! 😀
    Hugs, Cristina

  18. gentlestitches
    May 4, 2013

    Happy Birthday Kenley! You have the “secret ingredient’ to a happy life at any age. A good attitude! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the birthday wishes! And yes — a good attitude will get you far 🙂
      Kenley

  19. Karen
    May 4, 2013

    Happy belated birthday…I hope you had a great day.

  20. Happy (belated) birthday Kenley!
    xo
    lindy

  21. lovinghomemade
    May 4, 2013

    Hope you had a great birthday!

  22. Penny L Howe
    May 4, 2013

    Happy Birthday Kenley! Every day is a kind of birth day “if you think about it” because each day is a new day in your life! Love this post. And I’m rooting for Rosie Napravnik and Mylute of course! Have a great weekend my friend! 🙂

  23. mmmarzipan
    May 4, 2013

    Wishing you the happiest of birthdays, Kenley! And I totally agree with you- I am MUCH more comfortable in my own skin now than I have ever been before (despite the fact that this skin has been stretched, shrunk and stretched again to accomodate 2 babies in 2 years! 😉 ) and do not mourn my younger days. Congrats to you on 35 great years! All the very best to you! xx

  24. Happy belated birthday to you, Kenley! I hope you had a wonderful day…and that you spread out the celebration a bit–all month even. You deserve it, girl! And after all of the encouragement I received when turning 30 (from yourself included), like you, I feel more and more excited about what lies ahead. Here’s to growing older and hopefully wiser. To life!

    • Thanks Lauren!! Oh yes — a month of celebrating is definitely in order!! 🙂
      To Life!!
      Kenley

  25. I am so sorry I missed your birthday…I was in Seattle. Well Happy Belated my friend and I hope for you a great year ahead!

  26. kalamitykelli
    May 7, 2013

    Happy Birthday – late ! We all remember May 3 around these parts. The reason is because the largest tornado ever recorded – ever – hit our area, about mile from my house, in 1999. So, would people call YOU a tornado? 🙂 Hope you had a lovely day!

  27. moderndayruth
    May 8, 2013

    Belated Happy Birthday, dear Kenley! Many Happy Returns of the Day! xxxx

  28. Catching up as fsat as I can seems to be a little turtle-like. Sorry, I missed wishing you a happy birthday …. getting the drums out and banging loudly so you can hear my BIRTHDAY SONG …. hope it was a great one and may you have many, many more. I love your attitude about aging. It is a very psoitive and wonderful one to have.
    WOW … you have covered every Cinco de Mayo requirement. I think there is something for everyone.
    My friend hosted Kentucky Derby parties for years before she became ill. They were grand. We were required to wear hats and the men wore vests. The mint julep – not my favorite – was in every glass. It was always fun.
    Toodles,
    Isadora

    • Green Door Hospitality
      May 22, 2013

      Thanks so much for the birthday wishes. 🙂
      Both Cinco de Mayo and Kentucky Derby parties — as well as just all parties in general — can be so much fun! I actually want to do a Derby party sometime just for the excuse to wear outrageous and fun hats! 🙂
      Kenley

Let me know what you think!

