Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Lunchtime Hospitality: Meyer Lemon Granita

Meyer Lemon Granita

I love ice cream.  It is creamy.  It is awesome.  It is something that should never be kept in our house!  (See the first three sentences for the reason why).  But as we get into the warmer months it is so nice to have a cold dessert for a treat.  Enter granita.  Granita is a semi-frozen dessert very similar to Sorbet and Italian Ice.  It is cool and refreshing and has just the right amount of sweetness to curb my ice cream cravings.  Plus, and even more importantly, it makes for a wonderful dessert to be served to guests.

The process is easy but it does take a bit of time.  Plan on making it a day that you will be around for a good chuck of time.  Then serve it later, or the next day while entertaining.

Meyer Lemon Granitainspired by Cooking Light Magazine and Alton Brown, Good Eats

  • 2 cup water
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbs grated meyer lemon rind
  • 2/3 cup fresh meyer lemon juice (about 3 lemons)
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice (about 2 limes)
  • Mint sprigs (optional)

Combine the first five ingredients in a freezer safe container (that has a lid).  Stir until the sugar dissolves.

Put lid on the container and place in the freezer.

Keep in the freezer for 4-5 hours.  Every hour, take the container out and scrap with a fork.  This brings up any ice crystals that are forming.  Repeat this every hour until mixture is thoroughly frozen.  Once frozen, fluff with a fork and leave an extra half an hour.

Use a ice cream scoop to serve in dishes.  Garnish with mint sprigs if desired.

24 comments on “Lunchtime Hospitality: Meyer Lemon Granita

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    May 2, 2013

    I love Granita…saving this recipe.

  2. baileyboatcat
    May 2, 2013

    This looks like a yummy boat drink! =^.^=

    • Hehe, very yummy and perfect for the boat! BUT, it’s actually not a drink…it is a dessert. Very similar to Italian Ice 🙂
      Kenley

  3. Home Seasons
    May 2, 2013

    Granitas are so yummy! We love how they’re icy and have more texture compared to a sorbet. :9

    • I agree! Their textures are so refreshing! I also love that you don’t need extra equipment to make them 🙂
      Kenley

  4. Pingback: Wholly Guacamole

  5. pinkoclock
    May 2, 2013

    This looks SO good. I love anything lemony and anything ice cream-y (i.e., sweet and frozen)–the best ice cream I’ve ever had is lemon custard from Leopold’s in Savannah, GA–and now I can’t wait to make this.

    • Thanks Megan! Oh I love custard ice cream!! And I really think you’ll enjoy this granita 🙂

  6. apuginthekitchen
    May 2, 2013

    So refreshing, I can’t wait for the weather to warm up here so I can enjoy icy treats. This is lovely!

  7. gentlestitches
    May 2, 2013

    OMG! I just checked your Mint Julep post but this one is definitely me!

  8. gotasté
    May 3, 2013

    This is such a great recipe Kenley! Just nice for a all year long summer over here. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Week in Review: Hats, Enchiladas, and the Celebration of Birth | Green Door Hospitality

  10. Sarah
    May 3, 2013

    This looks so yummy! Perfect for Spring and Summer.

  11. I can see this being such a refreshing treat on a hot Florida summer’s day! I’ve never made my own ice cream or granita for that matter…something to add to the bucket list, perhaps?

    • I think you should definitely add it to the bucket list!! Especially granita since you don’t need any special equipment for it!

  12. Mama's Gotta Bake
    May 4, 2013

    I love Meyer lemons, and I love granitas…so I guess I’ll be making this pretty soon!

  13. Pingback: 1 ingredient ice-cream served with blueberries, yogurt and biscuits. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  14. Pingback: Sicilian breakfast: granita and brioche. More on Italy. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Let me know what you think!

