Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Cocktail Corner: Bourbon Mint Julep

Bourbon Mint Juleps

The Kentucky Derby is this weekend and since I am not good at making hats, I thought instead I’d share a recipe for Bourbon Mint Juleps instead.  According to Wikipedia, there is almost 120,000 mint juleps served over the two day event at Churchill Downs (the Kentucky Oaks is on Friday and the Kentucky Derby is on Saturday).

Bourbon Mint Julepfrom About.com, makes one glass

  • 4-5 fresh mint leaves
  • 2 sugar cubes
  • 2 1/2 oz bourbon
  • mint sprig for garnish

Place mint and sugar cubes in a Collins glass and muddle until sugar is dissolved and the mint has released its oils and aroma.

Add the bourbon.

Fill glass with ice and stir well.

Garnish with mint sprig.

26 comments on “Cocktail Corner: Bourbon Mint Julep

  1. leaner by the lake
    May 2, 2013

    HA. A is going to be all over this! Sending his way, stat! Plus, we just got a muddler, so that’s reason enough.

    • Oh muddlers are so great!! We use ours all the time…both for alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. You’ll really enjoy yours 🙂

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    May 2, 2013

    That is alot of those drinks served for sure!! I guess it is the Kentucky Derby after all.

    • Yeah, I was really surprised at how many juleps are served! I went to the Kentucky Derby once when we lived in Ohio — but I was only a teenager (went with my parents) so I really didn’t get a feel for all the drinks served or even what mint juleps were. 😉

  3. Christine
    May 2, 2013

    That sounds delightful!

    I’ve got a huge pot of mint on my back porch, too.

    • 🙂 So many wonderful things to do with mint — especially ones that involve cocktails! 🙂

  4. Mama's Gotta Bake
    May 2, 2013

    OOOOOH! I’ve never had one, but it sure looks good!

  5. Fun! I went to the derby once the year I graduated from college and it was amazingly fun. Perhaps I’ll whip out my big hat and make one of these this weekend 🙂

    • Oh you pry had more fun when you went…I was like a freshman in high school. So fun, but no cocktails and not as much appreciation for what was going on. 🙂
      You should totally make this weekend a “Say Something Hat Day” and drink juleps… well, except on Sunday you should have a margarita 😉

  6. thethingaboutjoan
    May 2, 2013

    My husband and I were just talking about Derby weekend and he mentioned that we should try to make mint juleps. It’s been forever since he tried to make one, so I’m going to leave this post up on the computer screen for him to find! 🙂

  7. apuginthekitchen
    May 2, 2013

    I have only had a mint julep once, loved it. Your recipe sounds wonderful and perfect for Derby day, I’ll don a hat and enjoy one in NYC!!

  8. gentlestitches
    May 2, 2013

    These make me think of the movie “gone with the wind”. After dealing with teens this morning I think perhaps one would be perfect right now! Better make it of the non alcoholic type! 🙂

  9. You know, I have never actually had a mint julep (I’m thinking a mojito doesn’t count 🙂 ) but have always been very curious. I’m going to have to give it a try!

    • Nope…a mojito doesn’t count 😉 (Though I’ll be posting about those in a couple weeks!) If you try a mint julep, let me know what you think 🙂
      Kenley

  10. now at home mom
    May 2, 2013

    this looks goo, I’ve never tasted on of these but I’m sure it’s very good Kenley! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Week in Review: Hats, Enchiladas, and the Celebration of Birth | Green Door Hospitality

  12. How fun and festive! Would love to drink mint juleps with you, Kenley, and have some laughs.

  13. Jessica Rice
    May 7, 2013

    Want this in my mouth right now.

    • Thanks Jessica! Come on over and I’ll serve you one! 🙂 (But only if you bring yummy beer doughnuts!)

  14. Pingback: Mint Julep | blah blah birds

Let me know what you think!