Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week In Review

All Those Innocent Field MiceI was always a big fan of the Little Bunny FooFoo song when I was a kid.  It would get stuck in my head for days…and now find myself humming as I type.  When I saw this meme I just thought it was so fun and cute — that bad little bunny!

And a big thanks to everyone for indulging me this week in my little wedding anniversary love letter!  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This week  is also very important since it is Earth Week and today is ARBOR DAY!!  For Arbor Day we planted a new tree in our backyard — a Pink Dawn Chitalpa.  Are you planting a tree today?  Have you done anything for Mother Nature this week?  If you get a moment, take a look at Garden Walk, Garden Talk’s Earth Day post, 86,400 Seconds for Earth Day.  Along with her thought-provoking words and beautiful photography, there is also an interesting video of Ron Finley discussing Guerrilla Gardening.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Balsamic Strawberry Pie

ONLY A FEW DAYS LEFT!  I’m currently in THIRD PLACE!  There is still time to Vote for my Balsamic Strawberry Pie photo in the Food Stories April Food Photo Contest!    Already voted??  You can vote as many times as you like and I greatly appreciate any and all support as I try to turn that third place into first place!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Make sure to check out these delicious recipes from other bloggers that I can’t wait to try!

Braised Chicken with Loquats and Lemon from Full and Content

Leak and Potato Soup with Anise from Under the Cape Honeysuckle

Pink Cookies (So very pretty and cut into heart shapes!) from Pink O’Clock

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Very excited for Penny over at The Why About This.  She has just published a book called ‘The Shy Butterfly’.  I encourage you to visit her blog and read about the very moving story behind this book and the shy butterfly who “meets a beautiful Monarch butterfly who encourages him to be brave and step out into the sunlight, to see what he’s been missing, to fully appreciate and enjoy his life.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Wedding Tree Planting Ceremony

Ingredient Spotlight:  Cremini Mushrooms

Remembering Irises, Spanakopita, and Love

Wordless Wednesday — First Date

Lunchtime Hospitality:  Watermelon Cucumber Slushie

Finding Inspiration in Cookbooks

To My Love

18 comments on “Week In Review

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    April 26, 2013

    I am hoping you win! Happy Ann. I forgot to tell you before. We hit 25 years this week.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Thanks so much Cynthia!! And Happy 25th Anniversary to you and your husband!! 🙂
      Kenley

      • Cloches & Lavender
        April 29, 2013

        Thank you we can’t believe it went so fast and that we are still so young. We got married when I was 23 and he was 26. Still very much in love!!

      • Green Door Hospitality
        April 29, 2013

        Oh I love hearing that!! 🙂

  2. Penny L Howe
    April 26, 2013

    Thank you for sharing my story Kenley, I do appreciate you very much! Have an excellent weekend! 🙂

  3. apuginthekitchen
    April 26, 2013

    I hope you win and congratulations on the wedding anniversary, I will vote again for you!

  4. gentlestitches
    April 27, 2013

    You have my votes and good luck! 🙂

  5. Time With Thea
    April 27, 2013

    Thank you for sending me over to the blog ‘Garden Walk Garden Talk’. What a wonderful site! I voted again. Good luck! ~Thea

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      So glad you like Garden Walk, Garden Talk! I’m a big fan of her writing and photography!
      And thanks so much for the votes Thea! 🙂
      Kenley

  6. now at home mom
    April 27, 2013

    Nice week for you Kenley! 🙂 glad you shared it with us! & just voted a couple of times for you, I hope you win! 🙂 GO! Kenley, GO!

  7. thethinkingcloset
    April 30, 2013

    Okay, I feel really lame, but I don’t think I know the Little Bunny FooFoo reference. Do you have a YouTube link or Wikipedia article you can direct me to? I want to be in on the joke! 😉

    And best of luck with the contest. My mouth waters every time I see that yummy dessert…you definitely deserve the win, my friend.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 30, 2013

      The words little bunny foofoo should be hyperlinked in the article to take you to the Wikipedia article. It’s a children’s song about a bad little bunny who bops field mice on the head. 😉
      Thanks so much for the compliment on the pie! This is the last day — still in third place but hopefully more votes will come in and I can pull into 1st. 🙂
      K

      • Duh. Not sure how I missed that the first time! It’s such a funny rhyme…and I wish I had learned the song when I was a kid! 😉

      • Hehe 🙂 Never too late to learn something new, right. 😉

Let me know what you think!

