Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Finding Inspriation in Cookbooks

Cookbooks

I am jumping on the bandwagon!!  Sharing of favorite cookbooks has been going around.  First Chef Mimi Blog and then A Pug In The Kitchen and then it was Fae’s Twist and Tango!  So, I thought I’d better get in on this action!

I like so many cookbooks for so many different reasons.  Cookbooks to me are beautiful pages of inspiration.  I have a hard time following recipes to the letter.  I pour through stacks of books, find something I like, and then make it my own.  It is all part of my creative cooking process.

So here are my five favorite inspirations (in no particular order):

1.  Good Eats, The Early Years, Alton Brown

I am a huge, huge Alton Brown fan.  I have learned so much from watching Good Eats episodes and pouring through “The Early Years”.  The idea of pairing a cooking show with a “Bill Nye The Science Guy” type attitude is right up my alley!  And I’m sure that once I own “The Middle Years” and “The Later Years”, those will be added to this favorites list as well!  For more information on the book:  Amazon

2.  The World Encyclopedia of Bread and Bread Making, Christine Ingram

This is a really great resource for not only making breads, but history of different breads from different cultures all over the world.  It’s perfect for when you are doing a theme party and want to stay true to a particular culture’s food.  Plus you can expose yourself to wide variety of breads that go beyond your own region!  For more information on the book:  Amazon

3.  Cooking Light Annual Recipes, Cooking Light Magazine

As you may have been able to tell from the blog, I am hooked on Cooking Light Magazine!  It has such a plethora of recipes to choose from.  Each year the magazine comes out with a hardcover cookbook of annual recipes from that year.  I’ve been slowly collecting them at Half Priced Books.  There is so much inspiration to be had and as many good ideas as they have, there are so many brilliant ways to tweak them!  For more information on the book:  Amazon

4.  Mastering the Art of French Cooking Vol. 1, Julia Child, Simone Beck, and Louisette Bertholle

Amazing recipes aside, Julia Child is SUCH an inspiration as a person.  She is proof that you are never too old to learn how to cook, and never too old to pursue a dream.  As for the cookbook, I do in fact love both volumes but volume 1 has offered just a bit more to me.  Her sauces alone are incredible.  I also find that when I open up this book, I am opening up the idea of exploring different types of recipes and experiences.  And then of course after the meal I settle down on the couch and watch Julie and Julia!  For more information on the book:  Amazon

5.  Complete Entertaining Cookbook, Williams-Sonoma

My sister gave me this cookbook as a Christmas gift about 13 years ago.  Who knows, perhaps it was what put me on the path of loving to entertain!  This book offers not only great recipes but some wonderful tips on prepping for parties, napkin folding, table setting, floral arrangements, etc.  It is a wonderful inspiration for your own home entertaining.  For more information on the book:  Amazon

29 comments on “Finding Inspriation in Cookbooks

  1. chef mimi
    April 25, 2013

    I’m so glad you did this!!! Great books.

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    April 25, 2013

    What a great selection, I used to get Cooking Light magazine and I stopped. I don’t really even know why.

    Cynthia

  3. Penny L Howe
    April 25, 2013

    Great books, an excellent thing to share Kenley. 🙂

  4. Alastair
    April 25, 2013

    There’s a newish cookbook. It’s real Good Eats by Jodi Ambrose, It’s for both good cooks and reluctant cooks.

  5. Home Seasons
    April 25, 2013

    Loving all your picks! Alton Brown and Good Eats are definitely some of our favorites, too!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Thanks! And yeah…Alton Brown does such a wonderful job with his Good Eats series. Love how he breaks everything down!
      Kenley

  6. lulu
    April 25, 2013

    I share some of your cookbooks. I just wish I got around to making all the recipes that so tempt me. You were good to include why you like these particular books.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Thanks Lulu! And I know what you mean about “so many recipes, so little time”. 😉
      Kenley

  7. mmmarzipan
    April 25, 2013

    great share, Kenley! I am in love with my River Cottage cookbook (Veg everyday) right now 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Thanks!! And I’ll have to look at the River Cottage Cookbook 🙂

      • mmmarzipan
        April 29, 2013

        There are quite a few of them now… I only own the veggie one, but by all accounts they are all excellent. I think you’d appreciate them, Kenley 🙂

      • Green Door Hospitality
        April 30, 2013

        Thanks 🙂

  8. apuginthekitchen
    April 25, 2013

    I love all of your choices, each one is amazing.I so love seeing the cookbooks that others use all the time. Each one is a treasure trove of wonderful recipes and tips.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      They really are! Cookbooks are one of my favorite things to page through — so many incredible ideas and so much creativity from other cooks!
      Kenley

  9. Fae's Twist & Tango
    April 25, 2013

    Kenley, You have cookbooks of cookbooks, and thank you for sharing. Does Julia Child’s cookbooks you mentioned have photos of the recipes?

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Thanks Fae! There are some illustrations in Mastering the Art of French Cooking, but no actual photography.
      Kenley

  10. I love all of your choices and have a few of them myself – I also have a few of the ones in your picture including the same New York Times Cookbook which was my grandmother’s. Thanks for sharing!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Thanks Danielle! I enjoy the New York Times cookbook (which was my mother’s) as well…though I don’t find myself using it as much as maybe I should. 🙂
      Kenley

  11. Pingback: Week In Review | Green Door Hospitality

  12. now at home mom
    April 27, 2013

    Kenley, I love how you describe book#4 I’ve considered buying it a couple of times last December but never did, now after your nice description : I will definitely get it! 🙂 thanks for sharing with us Kenley!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 29, 2013

      Ingrid, I really think you’ll enjoy Mastering the Art of French Cooking! Julia Child really is a master!!
      Kenley

  13. wino2wineknow
    April 28, 2013

    Thanks for the recommendations! I’m always looking for creative cookbooks as well as boring ones that remind me how to best fry an egg:)

  14. I take it you’ve seen the movie, Julie and Julia? It was such a wonderful glimpse into the force of a woman that was Julie Childs…and I was so fascinated to learn more of the story behind how she did master the art of French cooking. I’m sure the cookbook itself is an even deeper journey into that story!

    • Oh yes! Love that movie. The husband actually gave me the movie, along with both volumes of Mastering the Art of French Cooking for Christmas two years ago. The books really do add more to the journey! 🙂
      K

Let me know what you think!

