Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Homemade Staples: Meyer Lemon Curd

Meyer Lemon Curd

Lemon Curd is one of THE most versatile staples to keep on hand for preparing desserts.  Lemon bars, tarts, pies, etc.  Spread it on pound cake.  Dip strawberries in it.  The options are endless!  Having lemon curd around is perfect for any of your entertainment needs.  Plus it is easy to make!  It also makes a wonderful hostess gift to bring when you’re going to someone’s home!

I really like using Meyer Lemons when making curd.  They are sweeter and less acidic which makes them perfect for desserts!  You can read more at my Lemon Ingredient Spotlight.  And if you don’t have Meyer Lemons, regular lemons will work just fine.

This recipe makes one pint and can be refrigerated for up to two weeks.  Though I dare you to try to keep it for that long with out eating it! 🙂

Meyer Lemon Curdmodified from Alton Brown, ‘Good Eats’

  • 5 egg yokes
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 meyer lemons, zested and juiced
  • 1 stick butter, chilled and cut into pats
Add enough water to a medium saucepan to come about 1-inch up the side.  Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat.
Combine egg yolks and sugar in a double bowler, or a medium size metal bowl.  (Bowl should be large enough to fit on top of saucepan without touching the water.)  Whisk until smooth.  (I found that it is better to incorporate the sugar slowly, a little bit at a time to help prevent the mixture from clumping).
Measure citrus juice to 1/3 a cup.  If you come up a little short, add enough cold water to reach the 1/3 mark.  Add juice and zest to egg mixture and whisk smooth.
Once water reaches a simmer, reduce heat to low and place double boiler (or bowl) on top of saucepan.  Whisk steadily and consistently until thickened and can coat the back of a spoon.  This will take between 8-12 minutes.
Remove promptly from heat and stir in butter a piece at a time, allowing each addition to melt before adding the next.
Remove to a clean container and cover by laying a layer of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the curd.  This protects the surface from getting a film layer over the top.

34 comments on “Homemade Staples: Meyer Lemon Curd

  1. Megan @ Pink O'Clock
    April 16, 2013

    Lemon curd is one of my favorite things in the whole wide world, and this recipe looks super easy. Last time I made lemon curd it kind of turned into lemon cream (whoops!), but it was still delicious with homemade lavender scones. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Kenley!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      Thanks Megan! And yes…very easy. I took a look at the Lavender scones you made — which look awesome and I totally will be making them soon — and I saw the instructions for the lemon curd that you made from Bon Appetit. I think the reasons it made more of a sauce than a curd are two things. One, using just the egg yokes helps in making more of a curd consistency. And two, don’t blend, whisk. Whisking is definitely the better route to go in a recipe like this. And since you don’t have a blender…it’s perfect, right! 😉
      K

  2. the Painted Apron
    April 16, 2013

    I swear you have been reading my mind lately! Lemon curd is something I want to make and haven’t looked for a recipe! Perfect, thanks!
    Jenna

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      Haha…I would like to tell you Jenna that I’m doing this on purpose and I can in fact read your mind! 😉
      So glad that this recipe will be of help! It really is super delicious!
      Kenley

  3. MMMMMmmmmm … Meyer Lemons. I think they’re so much better than regular lemons. They aren’t as tart and they have loads of juice. My friend gave me a small Meyer Lemon tree for my birthday. It hasn’t produced leemons yet but they are very prolific. I will have this nice recipe for when I am overloaded and want to save them.
    Thanks ….

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      I love Meyer Lemons too. We are hoping to get a tree soon. What a wonderful gift from your friend! And this recipe will be perfect once your tree starts producing! 🙂
      Kenley

  4. Cloches & Lavender
    April 16, 2013

    This is always something I wanted to make and didn’t know how….Thanks for the recipe.

    Cynthia

  5. leaner by the lake
    April 16, 2013

    It feels like you and Sarah absolutely NEED to meet in person, lol!

    Looks amazing, Kenley!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      Thanks Eileen!! And yeah…Sarah and I’ve emailed separately from the group talking about just that! 🙂

  6. moderndayruth
    April 16, 2013

    That sounds yummy! Another brief checking on your blog, still fasting 😉 xxxx

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      Thanks so much! And so appreciating the reading and the commenting despite the fact that you’re fasting! 😉
      Kenley

  7. azita houshiar
    April 16, 2013

    love these kind of recipes – interesting and versatile and useful – and I really like the idea of making these as hostess gifts. Will definitely aim to make this.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      Thanks!! It is is always so great when one recipe can be made for multiple purposes. Let me know if you make it, and what you think!
      Kenley

  8. Our Adventure in Croatia
    April 16, 2013

    never knew lemon curd until I came to England, we don’t have it in Italy! and I have only ever tried the shop-bought one, on toast. The one you have made must be really delicious, Kenley!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 17, 2013

      Thanks so much! And honestly, for the ease and tastiness of making it homemade there is no need to buy it once you know how to make it 🙂

  9. apuginthekitchen
    April 16, 2013

    I love curd!! Meyer lemons make the best curd imaginable. Delicious!

  10. now at home mom
    April 16, 2013

    I have tried to make this before and I didn’t succeed, never gave it a try again! now with your easy recipe I might give it a go again! it looks so good and good idea to spread it on top of pound cake (I bake pound cakes very often) 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 17, 2013

      Let me know if you try this recipe Ingrid. Would love to know how you like it. And yes — pound cake + lemon curd = Awesome!

  11. I’ve heard of lemons…and I’ve heard of cheese curd…but never LEMON CURD! You never fail to rock my mind with your recipes, Kenley. Thanks for educating me so much in the culinary arts department. I feel like I need to pay you course fees! 😉

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 17, 2013

      Oh Lauren, you will love lemon curd! So, so tasty! And so much you can do with it. (Plus there is the added bonus of being the chef and taking strawberries to scrap out the bowl after you’ve jarred it!)
      And thank you so much for the compliment. No course fees necessary my friend! We’ll just grab a drink together when either I’m in Florida or you’re in Texas. 😉
      Kenley

  12. Mrs. DeYarmond
    April 17, 2013

    I love lemon curd !!! I will probably try your recipe !! It sounds delicious !

  13. Pingback: Ingredient Spotlight: Lemons | Green Door Hospitality

  14. mmmarzipan
    April 17, 2013

    I love lemon curd! Yours looks and sounds delicious! x

  15. gotasté
    April 18, 2013

    I would love to have another go at baking lemon tarts, this recipe came just in time. Thanks for sharing Kenley 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 18, 2013

      You’re quite welcome Danny! I thought of your lemon tarts when posting this. Let me know how your second time ends up going 🙂
      Kenley

  16. Home Seasons
    April 18, 2013

    This would be so delicious on pound cake! It probably won’t last for two weeks cause we’d eat it all in one go!

  17. Pingback: Week In Review: Earth, Humanity, and Sunflowers | Green Door Hospitality

  18. Pingback: Vegan Meyer Lemon Curd. | for the love of chow

  19. Pingback: Impromptu Entertaining: Meyer Lemon Bars | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

