Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Lunchtime Hospitality: Chicken Alfredo with Zucchini

Chicken Alfredo

I love taking an old standard like chicken alfredo and giving it some new life.  The fusilli pasta is fun and holds the sauce well.  The chicken being coated in flour locks in the flavor.  And using Aleppo red pepper flakes, garlic, and fresh oregano brings more pizzazz to an otherwise standard sauce.  Zucchini is a personal favorite, but broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, etc. would also work great as an accompanying vegetable.

This recipe makes enough for 4 people, or to have plenty of leftovers!

Chicken Alfredo with Zucchini

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 zucchini, sliced in 1/4 inch rounds
  • 16 oz of fusilli pasta (or any other shaped pasta)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • Olive oil
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Cracked black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbs fresh oregano, finely chopped
  • Aleppo red pepper flakes, to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain in a colander over a bowl and set aside.

Cut chicken breasts into large bite size pieces.  Toss in flour until coated.

Heat 1-2 Tbs olive oil in a large skillet.  Cook chicken bites until browned on each side and cooked throughout.  About 10-15 minutes.

Toss zucchini rounds with 1 Tbs of olive oil, plus salt and pepper to taste.  Place in a jelly pan coated with cooking spray.  Roast in the oven for 15 minutes, stirring once half way through.  Remove from the oven and set aside.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium low heat. Add cream and simmer for 5 minutes, then add garlic, oregano, red pepper flakes (to taste) and cheese and whisk quickly, heating through.

Place cooked pasta and chicken in a serving bowl.  Pour alfredo sauce over them and toss to coat.  Add zucchini and gentle toss.  (Add zucchini at the end and only gently toss so that zucchini does not break).

Serve and enjoy!

21 comments on “Lunchtime Hospitality: Chicken Alfredo with Zucchini

  1. My husband is going to love this recipe!!! He wants to add zucchini to everything☺ It looks divine girlfriend.

  2. leaner by the lake
    April 8, 2013

    Totally down with the red pepper flake addition! Looks delicious, Kenley!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 8, 2013

      Thanks Eileen! Aleppo red pepper flakes are becoming somewhat of an addiction! 😉 They add wonderful flavor and just a hint of heat!
      Kenley

  3. Our Adventure in Croatia
    April 8, 2013

    I have all the ingredients so I will make it tonight Kenley! thanks for the suggestion

  4. Home Seasons
    April 8, 2013

    This looks delicious! We love pasta with anything and everything :9

  5. gentlestitches
    April 8, 2013

    Those red flakes make such an impression yet are subtle. I will see if we have them here.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 9, 2013

      Thanks! I absolutely LOVE Aleppo Red Pepper Flakes. So glad you were able to find some (per your comment on your blog)! I really think you’ll enjoy them 🙂
      Kenley

  6. Megan @ Pink O'Clock
    April 8, 2013

    I could have sworn I left a comment on this post–apparently I meant to and it never happened! This recipe is totally going to be made within the next two weeks–I can’t get enough of zucchini, and this looks like it would make enough to get me through a couple days’ worth of dinners (I live alone–my boyfriend and I are long distance–so meals that reheat easily are a must for me). Thank you for sharing, Kenley! Seriously, the photo is making me drool. xoxo

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 9, 2013

      Megan, so glad you like it! And it will be perfect for making and then having leftovers 🙂
      Kenley

  7. Amy Tong
    April 8, 2013

    I love Chicken Alfredo too. Nice call in adding zucchini to give it some twist. 🙂 Love the addition.

  8. Yum, yum, and more yum. Your posts always seem to hit me when my belly is hungry…ha ha. But this one is one I’d really love to try – – especially because Mark loves chicken alfredo and I’ve been so obsessed with zucchini lately. Thanks for sharing yet another incredible creation from your kitchen.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 9, 2013

      I plan it that way Lauren!! 🙂 This sounds like the perfect combo for both yours and Mark’s loves!
      Kenley

  9. now at home mom
    April 9, 2013

    This recipe is one we will be trying Kenley! it looks delicious! oh! so good! because of one of your last posts; zucchini is on my mind 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 10, 2013

      Thanks so much Ingrid! And actually — zucchini is STILL on my mind! lol Figuring out what next recipe I’m going to make with it 🙂
      Kenley

  10. gotasté
    April 10, 2013

    I’ve tried Zucchini pasta before and failed badly. I would love to try it again with your recipe. Looks so good! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Week In Review: Contests, Pintrest, and Happy Trees | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

