Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week in Review: We Can Dance if We Want To

leavemyfriendsbehind

It is FRIDAY!  And after a week of rain and gloom, we have beautiful sun and decent temperatures going into the weekend.  So it seems like a perfect day for a little Men Without Hats!

This week was exciting because I got to the official launch of my Culinary Series!  The series offers up delicious recipe suggestions for a variety of different entertaining scenarios including Brunch Basics, Lunchtime Hospitality, Impromptu Entertaining, and Elegant and Affordable!  You can find each of these individual series in the menu bar located at the top of the page.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Because of covering Easter decor, recipes, and projects in last Friday’s Week in Review, I didn’t get a chance to talk about a couple recipes from other bloggers that immediately made my taste buds do a happy dance just thinking about making them.  I encourage you to go check these out!

New York Strip Steak and Gorgonzola Salad from 1227 Foster

Chinese Five Spice Scallops with Mandarin Orange Salad from Back Road Journal

Zabaione with Crushed Raspberries and Amaretto Topping from The Single Gourmet and Traveller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sometimes in blogging, we feel like we are swimming in creativity and blog post ideas come to us by the bucket full.  And other times, sometimes more times than we would like, the creativity hits a brick wall and we find ourselves stuck.  Alex at Northstory wrote a great post this week covering this very subject which I encourage you to check out.  The Challenges of Being Creative as a Blogger.

I don’t know about you, but there are times when I find myself extremely stressed out in the kitchen.  My husband has come to know the “signs” and will do his most important job as sous chef and bring me a half a glass of wine to calm my nerves.  Stéphane Gabart over at My French Heaven has shared 11 Simple Tips to Avoid Stress in the Kitchen that you will want to take a look at if you ever find yourself on the stressful side while cooking!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Impromptu Entertaining:  Pan-Fried Tilapia with Honey Orange Sauce

Ingredient Spotlight:  Roma Tomatoes

Spring Entertaining — Floral Fun

Wordless Wednesday — Left to Pasture

Potluck Stamp of Approval:  Mediterranean Zucchini Bake

Culinary Series Announcement

25 comments on “Week in Review: We Can Dance if We Want To

  1. Karen
    April 5, 2013

    I’m happy to know that you liked the scallop and salad recipe. I thank you for the mention…it is much appreciated.

  2. What a great post, Kenley, and many thanks for linking my zabaione recipe. I’m glad you like it!

  3. Home Seasons
    April 5, 2013

    We’re glad the sun is finally shining! Have a great weekend, Kenley! Can’t wait to see more entries added to your Culinary Series 🙂

  4. So glad to hear I am not the only one that gets stressed in the kitchen♥ Your husband is a good man, bringing that glass of wine to you.

  5. Danny @ 1227 Foster
    April 5, 2013

    Thank you Kenley for the call out 🙂 I love Karen’s scallop recipe!!!!

  6. Great end of the week post, Kenley! And I love the “Safety Dance,” though I had never seen the crazy video until now. Ha ha. Thanks for helping to usher in the weekend with music and yummy recipes. (And I, too, loved Alex’s post…it resonated deeply with me.)

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 8, 2013

      Thanks Lauren! I had actually never seen the Safety Dance video either until I googled it for this post. Love how they did a pied piper type of theme.
      Kenley

  7. cristinasandru
    April 6, 2013

    Again a great post dear Kenley, thanks for sharing 😀
    In Romania it was the same temperature, a lot of rainy days and now it’s a decent weather, just for weekend, it’s such a good time! Enjoy 😀
    Thank you for the recipes, I am gonna give it a try soon 😉
    By the way, the song is just perfect for a good weekend 😀
    Have a great Day!

  8. now at home mom
    April 6, 2013

    You have a great husband Kenley ; bringing you wine when you are cooking! I think stressing even when we are doing things we love it’s normal because we want to get them right! great week, loved your culinary series too! 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 8, 2013

      That’s exactly what it is — just wanting to get things right!
      Thanks so much for your comment 🙂
      Kenley

  9. leaner by the lake
    April 6, 2013

    The chinese 5 spice scallop recipe has my mouth watering. Great links, Kenley! Have a lovely weekend!

  10. gentlestitches
    April 6, 2013

    Great post. Loved the music vid and also enjoyed the stress free tips.

  11. Humble Foodie
    April 9, 2013

    Okay, that song always cracks me up. I’ve seen the 11 Simple Tips article floating around the web but have been so rushed that I didn’t sit down to read it- with your recommendation, I will definitely check it out.
    Hope you had a great weekend!
    Alicia

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 9, 2013

      I really think you’ll like the article. Simple things but really important ones to keep in mind!
      And I did — hope yours was great too 🙂
      K

  12. Valentina
    April 9, 2013

    Congratulations on your new enterprise. Zabaione is a fantastic dessert, but not many people know it. I featured it in by book Come Mia Nonna. Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/9agl5v9

Let me know what you think!

