Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Holiday Entertaining – Spring Edition: Decorating Easter Eggs

Rubberband Dyed Eggs

Photo Courtesy of Do It and How

Dying Easter eggs has come along way since I was a kid.  When I was younger we didn’t realize you could take a bunch of rubberbands and some dyes and create awesome eggs like the ones that Do It and How made shown above.  Instead what we had available to us was:

Photo Courtesy of Paas

Photo Courtesy of Paas

(And we didn’t have all the cool options that the PAAS company now carries).

There truly are some beautiful ways that are popping up all over Pintrest and the internet in general on how to decorate Easter eggs “unconventionally”.  Some are simple and fun, like these Sharpie Eggs.

sharpie eggs

Photo Courtesy of Mom.Me

Others, as show below, have a beautiful elegance about them…perfect for decorating your Easter table.  Just click on the image to learn how to make these lovely eggs.

Gilded Easter Eggs

Photo Courtesy of Just Paint It

 

naturally dyed eggs

Photo Courtesy of For The Love of The South

 

easter eggs

Photo Courtesy of Field Notes from Fatherhood

For more great egg decorating ideas, check out Tickled Pink’s Post!

Decorated Easter Eggs

Photo Courtesy of Tickled Pink

 

39 comments on “Holiday Entertaining – Spring Edition: Decorating Easter Eggs

  1. now at home mom
    March 25, 2013

    I like all these ideas! the ones from the last picture; look great! 🙂

  2. Humble Foodie
    March 25, 2013

    I love the metallic eggs and the inked ones! I would like to try blowing eggs this year (maybe tonight!) My mom’s best friend was an artist, and she helped us blow eggs and make them into Christmas ornaments when I was a child. These ornaments are some of our most cherished each year when the time comes to decorate the tree.
    Alicia

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 26, 2013

      Alicia, if you do try blowing eggs please let me know how it goes! I think they are so beautiful and would love to see how yours turn out 🙂
      Kenley

  3. Valentina
    March 25, 2013

    I paint eggs as decorations and not just for Easter. They seem to find always a good place in my client’s homes.

  4. Home Seasons
    March 25, 2013

    Loving all of these! It’s really too bad I didn’t have these ideas to inspire me when I was growing up.. my eggs would’ve been awesome!

  5. lulu
    March 25, 2013

    My eggs never looked so good, but these make me want to give it another go.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 26, 2013

      Thanks Lulu! And yes, I think these eggs are so inspiring to want to try all different types of methods, despite past experiences!
      Kenley

  6. leaner by the lake
    March 25, 2013

    My little sister got SUPER into egg blowing – God bless her patient soul – and I was always the kid dunking away in the regular ole’ kit. I concur with Alicia on the gold painted versions. And those rubberband ones. Spectacular!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 26, 2013

      Yeah, I never got any farther than the dunking in the basic PAAS kits. (Though I would try different “techniques” to try to get multi-color eggs). Yeah, I love the gold painted ones — but I think the rubberband ones are my favorite.
      Kenley

  7. gentlestitches
    March 25, 2013

    I am with Lulu! I am going to give it another crack too!

  8. thethinkingcloset
    March 26, 2013

    You always do such inspirational round-ups. I really love the ones speckled in gold paint. Might have to give it a whirl this Easter!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 26, 2013

      Aw, Thanks Lauren 🙂
      I think those are so pretty — let me know if you try them.
      Kenley

  9. Fae's Twist & Tango
    March 26, 2013

    These eggs are beautiful!

  10. jakesprinter
    March 26, 2013

    Great eggs artwork my friend thanks for sharing I love it 🙂

  11. tableofcolors
    March 26, 2013

    What beautiful and creative ideas!

  12. twistnpout
    March 26, 2013

    These are all very pretty. I was amazed by the all natural eggs – I’d love to give that a try. I’m actually going to a zentangle class today – maybe I’ll take my easter eggs with me.

    Thank you for visiting my blog by the way.
    cheers!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 27, 2013

      Thanks! Yes, I think this idea of natural dying eggs is really cool.
      And it was my pleasure to visit 🙂
      Kenley

  13. cristinasandru
    March 26, 2013

    Dear Kenley, that’s absolutely gorgeous! Very beautiful decorations for Easter eggs 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 27, 2013

      Thanks so much Cristina! 🙂
      Kenley

      • cristinasandru
        March 27, 2013

        You welcome my dear friend! 🙂
        Have a lovely day!
        Cristina

      • cristinasandru
        March 28, 2013

        You welcome, dear Kenley, your decorations are really beautiful! 🙂
        Have a nice day!
        Cristina

      • Green Door Hospitality
        March 28, 2013

        🙂

  14. Cynthia
    March 26, 2013

    These are s beautiful. I may try something one of these next year. They sure are all beautiful. Thanks for sharing these.

    Cynthia

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 27, 2013

      You’re welcome 🙂 Yeah, with all your packing, etc. going on, Easter eggs are pry at the bottom of “half to do” list. LOL
      Kenley

  15. Dogs, Dishes, and Decor
    March 27, 2013

    I looooooove these — especially the black and white eggs! Thank you for posting!

  16. Pingback: Week in Review : A World of Bunnies and Peeps | Green Door Hospitality

  17. mmmarzipan
    March 30, 2013

    wow! these are stunning!!!! thank you for sharing, Kenley x

  18. Time With Thea
    April 1, 2013

    I have noticed that egg decorating has become quite an art since the days when I was a little girl and all we used were wax crayons and Paas egg dye. I am thinking that next year I have to try some of these amazing techniques. Happy Easter! ~ Thea

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 2, 2013

      Happy Easter! And yes… egg decorating has come ALONG WAY since doing them as kids. I love the fact that they have really become, as you said, quite an art!
      Kenley

Let me know what you think!

