Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Wordless Wednesday — Happy First Day of Spring

Happy Spring

18 comments on “Wordless Wednesday — Happy First Day of Spring

  1. Mexican Bird of Paradise. One of my very favorites. Mine are still looking rough from the extra cold winter but I am hoping to see those gorgeous orange blossoms again soon. Beautiful picture Kenley and I am also glad to see your picture in the sidebar and put a face to all of the wonderful ideas and recipes you share.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 20, 2013

      Thanks for both the comments of the side bar addition, and of the Wordless Wednesday photo! And thank you also for identifying the flower!! I took this picture at Austin’s botanical gardens and wasn’t quite sure what it was (it didn’t have a placard to identify it).
      Kenley

  2. Cynthia
    March 20, 2013

    I wish that spring would make an appearance…..still blustery and cold here with snow on the ground.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 20, 2013

      Yeah, my dad emailed me this morning with their weather report (they live in Wisconsin). We are fortunate in Texas to have beautiful weather — BUT, I’ll be wanting to visit you in NJ once our extreme heat hits! 🙂
      Kenley

  3. cristinasandru
    March 20, 2013

    That’s such a beautiful flower! Have a happy spring! 🙂

  4. thingsmybellylikes
    March 20, 2013

    beautiful pic! I must admit that spring snuck up on me this year….we live in a hot climate so don’t really get seasons. When I was little and living in Ireland you knew the winter was over when the daffodils poked their heads out!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 20, 2013

      Thanks!! Here in Texas our season changes are not as extreme as when growing up in Wisconsin…but there is still something to be said for spring. There just seems to be something in the air… a lightness. 🙂
      Kenley

  5. The Siren's Tale
    March 20, 2013

    Just look at those colors… gorgeous!

  6. leaner by the lake
    March 20, 2013

    15 degrees here in Chicago, so I’m LOVING that you posted this to remind me that yes, in fact, it is Springtime 🙂 Another month and we should be finally seeing some buds over here!

    http://www.leanerbythelake.com

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 20, 2013

      Yes, just a little bit longer and it will be budding and beautiful there. As much as I do not miss the snow and cold of the Midwest, I do miss the feeling that comes when spring finally hits after months of ickiness. The first days of warmth in Madison (as I am sure it also is in Chicago) are always filled with people playing frisbee, flying kites, picnicking, etc. And everyone is in amazingly good mood. 🙂
      Kenley

  7. Suzanne
    March 21, 2013

    I so love Spring but it’s slow coming in NYC, we are still getting snow but I look at my backyard and immediately feel happy when I see my bulbs coming up and my roses starting to come alive, It’s a wonderful time of year.

  8. Fae's Twist & Tango
    March 21, 2013

    Indeed, Kenley!

  9. petit4chocolatier
    March 22, 2013

    Gorgeous colours 🙂

Let me know what you think!

