Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Discovering Public Art in Tuscon, Arizona

We recently went on a trip to Tuscon, Arizona for a wedding of some dear friends.  While there, we discovered that not only is Tuscon a fun city full of some great restaurants and history — but it has a wonderful collection of public art in the downtown area!  Below is a sampling of the murals and sculptures that we discovered on a morning walk, as well as just some beautiful/colorful architecture.

GDH_Griffin_TusconArizona_2013

GDH_ChildrenMural_TusconArizona_2013

GDH_FoxTheater_TusconArizona_2013

GDH_PublicLibrary_TusconArizona_2013

GDH_Mural_TusconArizona_2013

GDH_Dome_TusconArizona_2013

GDH_BikeMural_TusconArizona_2013

24 comments on “Discovering Public Art in Tuscon, Arizona

  1. Cynthia
    March 4, 2013

    Great pictures, hope you enjoyed yourself.

  2. The art on the walls…major love. BE KIND…that one is a keeper. Have you thought about framing this one?

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 5, 2013

      Thanks Laurie! Actually, I hadn’t… but now that you say that, I totally think I’m going to!! Thanks!! 🙂
      Kenley

  3. Sarah
    March 4, 2013

    Great photos! I think the first one is my favorite.

  4. Humble Foodie
    March 4, 2013

    I love the “be kind” mural! Hope you had a lovely visit.

  5. gentlestitches
    March 4, 2013

    What a treat! Thank you for showing us. I love Griffins.

  6. Time With Thea
    March 4, 2013

    Tuscon is one of my favourite cities! What a great idea to capture the art with your photography. Thank you for sharing. ~Thea

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 5, 2013

      You’re quite welcome Thea 🙂 This was my second time in Tuscon but really the first time exploring the downtown area. Really loved it and will most certainly be going back for another visit!!
      Kenley

      • Time With Thea
        March 5, 2013

        I agree. I hope to explore that area once again. I even find the flora and fauna so interesting… and the shopping! ~Thea

      • Green Door Hospitality
        March 6, 2013

        I do too! 🙂

  7. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    March 5, 2013

    You found some interesting subjects to photograph. What I noticed when I was there so long ago was all the color. In bright sun, color washes out and they made sure to have color. The colors were similar to those fabulous sunsets too.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 5, 2013

      The color was indeed beautiful, and what I think I was most drawn to. And yes, their sunsets are fabulous!!
      Kenley

  8. the Painted Apron
    March 5, 2013

    Thank you for a trip to Tuscon! I love all the colorful artwork you captured! Winter is such a good time to travel, get away from normal winter gloom…wonderful photos,
    Jenna

  9. You captured some beautiful images, Kenley! I especially love the FOX Marquee. Way to go with those photog. skills.

  10. petit4chocolatier
    March 6, 2013

    Love it all Kenley; especially “Be Kind”!!

  11. Eileen Ragan Mulloy
    March 10, 2013

    That FOX theatre sign is stunning. Thanks for sharing these. Public art is so special and worth embracing. It makes me realize how lucky I am to live in a city that supports artists and community.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      March 11, 2013

      I completely agree! Public art beautifies cities and makes them more interesting — and it is an art form that is assessable to everyone!
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Kenley

Let me know what you think!

