Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Homemade Staples: Waffles

Homemade Waffles

Never feel you have to say “L’EGGO MY EGGO” again!

Making fresh homemade waffles is a simple yet delicious endeavor.  You do need a waffle iron but as appliances go, they are quite reasonable to pick up.  So replace the frozen, toaster waffles and impress your guests and family with this great breakfast treat!  And like Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes, these are wonderful blank canvases for a wide assortment of toppings!

Homemade Waffles modified from Betty Crocker Cookbook

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Cooking spray

Preheat waffle iron.

In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs and buttermilk.  **You can use a hand mixer for this, but I have found from doing it both ways that the whisking makes for fluffier waffles.** Whisk in melted butter.

Add 1 cup flour and whisk to combine.  Then add the baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Whisk together.

Finally, add the last cup of flour and mix until smooth.

Before each waffle, spray the waffle iron with cooking spray.

Ladle batter into waffle iron and cook until golden brown.

Cover with your favorite toppings and enjoy!

 

22 comments on “Homemade Staples: Waffles

  1. SmallHouseBigGarden
    February 8, 2013

    I’m a big breakfast for supper fan! This is going on the rotation!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 8, 2013

      We love having breakfast for dinner too! It’s a great way to “break things up” throughout the week! 🙂
      Kenley

  2. Pillows A-La-Mode
    February 8, 2013

    Mmmmmm . . . 🙂

  3. Cynthia
    February 8, 2013

    We also love having breakfast for dinner. These look great.

  4. Mama's Gotta Bake
    February 8, 2013

    Okay, so now that I have your recipe I guess I can stop buying those Eggo’s!

  5. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    February 8, 2013

    You know, you might get me to eat a waffle now! They were never on my menu, but I did make the frozen ones for my husband.

  6. Christine
    February 8, 2013

    I love fresh waffles. My father-in-law makes them for us once in a while. So, so good.

  7. Home Seasons
    February 8, 2013

    We need to get us a waffle iron!

  8. lulu
    February 8, 2013

    Ah, waffles, my favorite Saturday morning breakfast, and they are definitely better made from scratch.

  9. Pride in Photos Photography
    February 8, 2013

    A Person after my own heart.My favorite thing for breakfast. My husband treats me to homemade waffles about once a month on a Saturday…my mouth is drooling seeing this…

  10. gotasté
    February 9, 2013

    These looks so good. I’ll love it for breakfast with bacon and scramble.

  11. petit4chocolatier
    February 10, 2013

    I need to purchase a waffle iron!! Looks delicious 🙂

Let me know what you think!

