Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Cocktail Corner: Grapefruit Margaritas

Grapefruit Margaritas

Since we had a Citrus Theme for our potluck this month, I thought it would be the perfect time to have a citrus cocktail.  This makes for a very refreshing, tangy drink that can either be served over ice, or straight up as seen above.  It worked well for the party’s theme, but would also be perfect on a hot summer day.  Our Texas grapefruits were sweet enough without adding anything extra, but feel free to add a bit of sugar if it is too tart — just be careful not to add too much.

Grapefruit Margaritas

  • 2 1/2 cups freshly squeezed and strained grapefruit juice
  • 1 1/2 cup tequila
  • 1 1/2 cup cointreau (triple sec also works well)

Combine grapefruit juice, tequila, and cointreau in a large pitcher.  Stir well.  Chill in refrigerator for at least one hour.

Serve over ice or straight up.  If preferred, rim glasses with margarita salt.

16 comments on “Cocktail Corner: Grapefruit Margaritas

  1. Leah
    January 31, 2013

    Sounds delicious and refreshing! My mouth is puckering just thinking about this. 😉

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 1, 2013

      Thanks Leah! They really were tasty and just the right amount of puckering! 😉
      Kenley

  2. leaner by the lake
    January 31, 2013

    this reminds me of the Salty Dog cocktail which I enjoyed over New Years with some freshly made grapefruit juice! I highly recommend if you’re a grapefruit fan, which it seems you are!

    2 oz gin
    4 oz grapefruit juice
    Salt for rimming
    Lemon or lime wedge for garnish

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 1, 2013

      I’ve heard of Salty Dogs but have never tried one. Thanks for the suggestion. Sounds great!! 🙂
      Kenley

  3. mmmarzipan
    January 31, 2013

    Sounds yummy! Please let me know if/when you blog about non-alcoholic cocktails too… would be most interested! I am sure you could come up with some amazing creations 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 1, 2013

      Thanks! I actually have one coming up that is an alcoholic drink but I’m going to go into a couple non-alcoholic variations! 🙂
      Kenley

      • mmmarzipan
        February 1, 2013

        Fabulous, Kenley! Looking forward to reading 🙂

  4. thingsmybellylikes
    January 31, 2013

    I love all things grapefruit, and quite a few things alcoholic. Thanks for this – bookmarking it as my Saturday night treat 🙂

  5. petit4chocolatier
    January 31, 2013

    This looks delicious! Love grapefruit 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 1, 2013

      Thanks Judy! I do too — though I really didn’t start to like grapefruit until just recently. But now I love them, both the taste and the health benefits! 🙂
      Kenley

  6. Joyti
    February 1, 2013

    That sounds delicious, and refreshing.

  7. the Painted Apron
    February 1, 2013

    It is so funny that we both posted cocktails on the same day! January was a LONG month!! Your grapefruit margarita looks divine!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 1, 2013

      Haha! Indeed it was! And it was really funny cause I think I came across like 5-6 cocktail posts yesterday (of people who don’t do that as their only blog posting). I think we all have the same thing on our mind! (Oh, and I’m posting another one today! lol)
      Kenley

  8. Pingback: Week in Review: Hats, Enchiladas, and the Celebration of Birth | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

