Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Elegant and Affordable: Lemon Baked Cod

GDH_LemonBakedCod_2013

This a wonderful dish that not only tastes delicious but provides a beautiful presentation when served to your guests.  Depending on what part of the world you live in Cod can either be a reasonably priced fish, or it can be a bit on the expensive side.  If that is the case, feel free to substitute it out for a different species.  Just make sure it is a mild, flaky, white fish.

Lemon Baked Codmodified from Food.com

  • 1 lb cod
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 Tbs fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • Cracked black pepper, to taste
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Aleppo red pepper flakes, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

If fish fillets are large, cut into serving pieces.

Salt and pepper the fillets to taste.

Mix butter and lemon juice.  Place flour in a pie pan or other wide dish.

Dredge fish fillets in the butter mixture and then in the flour mixture.

Place fish in an ungreased baking dish.

Pour remaining butter mixture over fish in the baking dish.

Sprinkle with red pepper flakes.

Bake uncovered for 25-30 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

Garnish with parsley and lemon slices.

32 comments on “Elegant and Affordable: Lemon Baked Cod

  1. Sarah
    January 22, 2013

    Looks yummy!

  2. Pride in Photos Photography
    January 22, 2013

    Well you are serving two of my favorite ingredients…potatoes and rosemary..yummy!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 22, 2013

      Thank you! Though was this comment meant for my red potatoes with rosemary post? 🙂
      Kenley

      • Pride in Photos Photography
        January 22, 2013

        yes, I was on that post but after I pushed reply, it jumped to the next one? Crazy?

      • Green Door Hospitality
        January 22, 2013

        Very strange… either way, I agree that I love potatoes and rosemary together too 🙂

  3. Robin Jean Marie
    January 22, 2013

    I’m always shy about cooking fish, but this recipe looks like a winner!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 22, 2013

      I usually am to. It is one of the items that we want to interject more into our diet though. And I found this to be a really easy dish to prepare, AND tasted incredible! To make gluten-free, I would recommend replacing the regular flour with coconut flour. 🙂
      Kenley

  4. Cloches & Lavender
    January 22, 2013

    I love this, this is a keeper. Thanks.

  5. Mama's Gotta Bake
    January 22, 2013

    I’m a big fish eater, I will have to give this a try! Looks delish!

  6. Humble Foodie
    January 22, 2013

    You are the best! I keep seeing cod for super cheap in the store (Great Lakes region) and wondering what I could make with it. I’ll be taking your advice in the comments to use coconut flour instead. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 23, 2013

      Yes, cod is definitely affordable in the Great Lakes region! And I really think the coconut flour would add a nice element to the dish. 🙂
      Kenley

  7. Home Seasons
    January 22, 2013

    More seafood posts please!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 23, 2013

      Will do! 🙂 My husband and I are going to be trying to eat a lot more seafood this year!
      Kenley

  8. petit4chocolatier
    January 22, 2013

    Kenley, I love this cod recipe and I am going to try it. I have to tell you that I have prepared a few of your recipes! They are fairly easy, economical, nutritious, and delicious. This is another winner 🙂

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 23, 2013

      Oh not at all Judy, I’d be honored! And I really think that you’ll enjoy this cod recipe! It was amazingly delicious– the fish practically melts in your mouth 😉
      Kenley

  9. Marylin Warner
    January 22, 2013

    Cod has never been my favorite, but your recipe makes me want to try again. Thanks for the inspiration (and the recipe!)

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 23, 2013

      You’re quite welcome! I think you’d like it, but this recipe would easily work well with other fish types if you prefer. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Kenley

  10. myhealthyohana
    January 23, 2013

    I’ve actually never cooked cod before, but I do enjoy eating it 🙂 For some reason, I’ve always been intimidated about cooking with fish, even though it’s much simpler and faster to cook than most meats! I’m going to look at the grocery store for some white fish this weekend 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 23, 2013

      I think you’ll enjoy it. It’s really rather simple and easy, not to mention yummy! 😉
      Kenley

  11. gotasté
    January 24, 2013

    Cod is expensive over here that’s why I am waiting for a nice recipe before I get on to it. Yours is the simple kind that I love. It looks really good. Thank you for sharing Kenley.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 24, 2013

      You’re welcome Danny! And if the cod is really expensive, I think any mild, white fish would go great with this recipe as well! 🙂
      Kenley

      • gotasté
        January 25, 2013

        Noted 🙂

        Kenley, do you happen to have a recipe for milk fish? I am very interested in that fish but no idea how to cook it…

        Sincerely,
        Danny

      • Green Door Hospitality
        January 28, 2013

        I don’t Danny, sorry. I actually don’t think I’ve ever seen milk fish before. Is it a white fish? Or more similar to a tuna? a salmon?
        Kenley

      • gotasté
        January 29, 2013

        No worries Kenley. It looks like a different version of tuna to me. And that’s all I know 🙂
        Thank you for your reply.
        Danny

      • Green Door Hospitality
        January 30, 2013

        You’re quite welcome Danny. Wish I could be more help. If it is similar to tuna, I would say grilling it even with just a bit of cracked pepper and kosher salt would be great!
        Kenley

      • gotasté
        January 30, 2013

        Thanks for your reply Kenley. I shall try and let you know how it goes. 🙂

      • Green Door Hospitality
        January 30, 2013

        I would love that Danny 🙂

  12. Pingback: Week in Review: Seafood, Petite Sirah, and The 80s | Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

