Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

The Art of the Thank You

GDH_ThankYouCards_2013

Did you receive gifts this past holiday from a person or persons that do not live in the same home as you?  Have you sent them a thank you note yet?  If the answer is no…  pay attention.

This post was inspired by a dialogue that transpired when my friend Jenny posted something on Facebook about ‘thank you cards’.  It appears that she had been told by some that thank you cards are archaic and not necessary.  This, in my opinion, are the words of people who just “don’t feel like it”.  I understand that in our busy lives and quick access to technology that a quick text, email, or Facebook post can be thought of as a sufficient way of thanking someone.  Those options are better than nothing, however it doesn’t replace a handwritten note of gratitude.  Think of it this way.  If someone has gone to the trouble of giving you a gift, or doing some act that goes beyond the everyday — then you should take the time to thank them in a way that honors what you received.  A handwritten thank you can be in the form of an actual ‘thank you card’, a blank note card, or even just some loose leaf paper and an envelope.

A handwritten thank you note, like all handwritten mailed correspondence, is an art form.  An art form that should not get lost in a sea of hectic schedules and technology.

So what are you waiting for… go thank someone today! 🙂

35 comments on “The Art of the Thank You

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    January 15, 2013

    Great post!

  2. Jenny
    January 15, 2013

    So very true!!

  3. myhealthyohana
    January 15, 2013

    I am guilty…i have yet to write my thank you cards…it’s actually on my list of things to do to get more thank you notes! I agree, it’s nice to have a handwritten note, even in this digital age 🙂

  4. Leah
    January 15, 2013

    I love sending and receiving “snail mail.” Great post!

  5. petit4chocolatier
    January 15, 2013

    So true Kenley!!

  6. thecraftypioneer
    January 16, 2013

    Lets hope it becomes fashionable again!

  7. the Painted Apron
    January 16, 2013

    Yes, we have become the society of the busy and rude! I agree, a thank you note is an elegant way to honor someone who has done something thoughtful for you, it is a dying art…we must keep it alive! Thanks for reminding us,
    Jenna

  8. Sarah
    January 16, 2013

    I love thank you notes. I sent handwritten ones before the holidays were even over. I agree, if someone takes the time to send you a gift, you should take the time to write them a thank you note. In all honesty though, I’d settle for a quick email / text / facebook post as a Thank You. At least let the person who sent the gift know that you received it! I’m still wondering if the gifts that I sent to 5 different family members ever even arrived… (Ok, enough venting from me!)
    Sarah

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 16, 2013

      Ha! I understand that venting all too well! As much as I really think that a handwritten note is in order, sometimes I would be just fine with SOME sort of acknowledgement that the gift was even received!! 🙂
      Kenley

  9. mmmarzipan
    January 16, 2013

    You are so lovely and thoughtful! Great post 🙂

  10. Christine
    January 16, 2013

    So true. And it’s also just so nice to receive a nice piece of mail in the pile of junk mail and bills I usually get. It’s a mood lifter, for sure.

  11. Home Seasons
    January 16, 2013

    As much as we love receiving handwritten thank you notes, we have to admit that sometimes we forget. Hopefully, your post will inspire us to start again!

  12. The Scottie Chronicles
    January 16, 2013

    Oh boy….thank you notes are THE BEST!!! Check out my friend’s e-store for the coolest thank you notes. They’re all handmade in the good ‘ole USA of USA materials. http://www.shopluckyginger.com

    Thanks for stopping by The Scottie Chronicles by the way. I’m glad you liked my post. You’ve got a really nice blog here!

    Aroo, Stuart

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 17, 2013

      Your friend’s e-store is great. Love her note cards. The hydrangea images are stunning!
      It was my pleasure to check out The Scottie Chronicles!! Really like your blog! We are planning on getting our first Scottie this year and I am beside myself with excitement 😉
      Kenley

      • The Scottie Chronicles
        January 17, 2013

        ARE YOU PLAYING WITH ME?????????? You’re getting a Scottie? A little me??? Well, I’ll be a monkey’s uncle. (Maybe not.)

        OH… glad you visited ShopLuckyGinger.

        Now, if I can help you with Scottie stuff, I’ll gladly get the peep to correspond with you.

        WoooPPPPPEEEEEEE! Another proud peep soon to be owned by a Scottie!

        Aroooooo, Stuart

      • Green Door Hospitality
        January 17, 2013

        Hehe!! I am so glad that you’re excited Stuart 🙂 We are too! We have a vacation coming up the end of February so the soonest will be March, though it really depends on finding just the right little guy for our home! Don’t want to rush something as important as bringing a Scottie into your life! My parents are now on their second Scottie and I absolutely adore him (His name is Shamus if you please.). Once we get closer, I will be more than happy to correspond with your peep because I know we will have lots of questions.
        Kenley 🙂

      • The Scottie Chronicles
        January 17, 2013

        Well, you may not know that I’ve dubbed March as Scottish Terrier Month. Why? Because I was born in March and I think everybody else should celebrate with me! Congratulations to you and yours for making such a wise decision. Of course, all pooches are great, aren’t they? I’m rather partial to my own breed however. ArroOOOOOO! Stu

      • Green Door Hospitality
        January 18, 2013

        Haha! We’re rather partial to your breed too Stuart! And we will keep in mind that March is a special Scottie month! 🙂
        Kenley

  13. gentlestitches
    January 17, 2013

    I agree. My dear son wrote one (with my prompting) only 2 days ago and drew a smiley face. I explained to him it would “make the lady’s day” and it did.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 17, 2013

      That’s wonderful! Honestly I think my favorite of all thank you notes are ones from kids!! 🙂 (They do make the lady’s day!)
      Kenley

  14. Camilla
    January 17, 2013

    My children HATE this practice (as I did when I was young) but thank you notes are so well-received that it makes the effort more than worthwhile. While it has fallen out of vogue, it is indeed a matter of simple gracious manners.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      January 18, 2013

      Yeah, I don’t think any kids are huge fans of it… but I think it is one of those great lessons in manners that stay with you! 🙂
      Kenley

  15. Pingback: The Art of the Thank You note « Lucky Ginger Studio’s Blog

  16. neely wang
    January 31, 2013

    I totally agree — handwritten notes are so special and the ones we truly cherish!

Let me know what you think!

