Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Lunchtime Hospitality: Tossed Greens with Walnuts, Cranberries, and Gorgonzola

GDH_SaladWalnutsCranberriesGorg_2012

A simple but elegant salad can be a great side for a lunch with guests — or even as the main course!  This salad combines the savory elements of walnuts and gorgonzola with the tartness of the dried cranberries.  Walnuts and dried cranberries are great staples to have on hand in your pantry.  I used a combination of both green and red leaf lettuce since the red leaf provides such nice color.

Tossed Greens with Walnuts, Cranberries, and Gorgonzola

  • 1 1/2 heads of leaf lettuce
  • 4 oz gorgonzola (leave off for vegan version)
  • 5 oz walnuts, halved or quartered
  • 5 oz dried cranberries
  • 3-4 oz homemade croutons (leave off for gluten-free)

Wash and chop leaf lettuce and place in large bowl.

Add gorgonzola, walnuts, cranberries, and croutons.  Toss well to combine.

Serve with Homemade Balsamic Vinaigrette.

18 comments on “Lunchtime Hospitality: Tossed Greens with Walnuts, Cranberries, and Gorgonzola

  1. tableofcolors
    December 3, 2012

    This salad is perfect for the season, so hearty and rich with flavor!

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    December 3, 2012

    I do this alot, the only I change is the cheese my husband John, doesn’t like gorgonzola so use chunks of Parmesan.

    Cynthia

  3. thesinglegourmetandtraveller
    December 3, 2012

    Wonderful recipe. Lots of my favourite things!

  4. myhealthyohana
    December 3, 2012

    Can’t wait to try your homemade balsamic vinaigrette!

  5. The Humble Foodie
    December 3, 2012

    Yum, this looks colorful and amazing! Are the croutons homemade? I may be GF but I can live vicariously through your baking. 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      December 4, 2012

      Yup, the croutons are homemade! 🙂 I think you’d really enjoy the salad though without them. (And I love that you’re living vicariously through my baking!!)

  6. petit4chocolatier
    December 3, 2012

    This is my favorite type of salad. Love cranberries and walnuts. This looks so good right now. It is after 7:00 p.m. here 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      December 4, 2012

      Yeah, I love cranberries and walnuts paired together too! They make such a nice flavor combination!

  7. Organized Living Essentials
    December 3, 2012

    This is so my kind of salad! Thanks for the recipe. I pinned it on my Salad Pinterest board. ~Thea

    • Green Door Hospitality
      December 4, 2012

      Really think you’ll enjoy it! Very flavorful and delicious, while still feeling very light.
      Kenley

  8. Jo
    December 4, 2012

    Just the thing to serve at my party this weekend. I was trying to think of something a little different without the work of a 7 layer salad, i.e. something husband can make. Thank you. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • Green Door Hospitality
      December 4, 2012

      Well, I think this will be perfect then! When we entertained guests this past weekend, my husband made this salad while I made the main course. 🙂
      Kenley

  9. Marcella Rousseau
    December 5, 2012

    Yum! You’ve got some of my favorites here. What time should I come over?

Let me know what you think!

