Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Holiday Entertaining Tip: Music To Cook By

Beatles Abbey Road

When entertaining, generally you think of music to be played during the party.  Something for the background (or in the case of a dance party, something if the foreground!)

But, I also like to have music playing while I cook.  It creates a rhythm to my chopping. 🙂  And it makes time fly by!  For preparing for ‘Thankful with Friends’, I am being accompanied by The Beatles’ Abbey Road album.

What music do you like to cook by?

20 comments on “Holiday Entertaining Tip: Music To Cook By

  1. thesinglegourmetandtraveller
    November 16, 2012

    I always cook to music. My current favourite is Hugh Laurie’s Blues album, LET THEM TALK.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 16, 2012

      I will have to check that one out! A lot of my cooking is also done to celtic music — the rhythm is so upbeat and I always get a great flow going!

  2. Pillows A-La-Mode
    November 16, 2012

    Il Divo! Their singing makes my heart soar. And I agree that Celtic music is perfect, too! 🙂

  3. Cloches & Lavender
    November 16, 2012

    I love music, and when I am cooking it is a must.

  4. petit4chocolatier
    November 16, 2012

    Same thing Kenley; I always cook and bake with music!

  5. gotasté
    November 17, 2012

    Me too! Me too!

  6. Marcella Rousseau
    November 17, 2012

    I often provide my own music by singing. I’ll sing anything from opera to country western to Greek (I know a few Greek songs) to Oldies, some with some French lyrics. But when I use the spice Cumin, I always, always sing, “I’m only Cumin, flesh and blood, a man.” The original of course is “I’m only Human” by the Human League.

  7. Home Seasons
    November 19, 2012

    Definitely Christmas music during the holidays!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 20, 2012

      Oh most definitely Christmas music for me too during the season –though I usually wait till at least one day after Thanksgiving 🙂

  8. Claire D
    November 19, 2012

    Other than holiday season I too play music when I cook! But at holiday time I switch to old movies. I made Pork Chops this weekend while watching Xmas in Connecticut with Barbara Stanwyk – anything from the 40’s with a holiday theme just gets to me and makes cooking a happy adventure!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 20, 2012

      I love the idea of the old movies!! I love old movies in general — and holiday themed movies are such a great way to get into the spirit of the season!

  9. cristinasandru
    November 10, 2013

    Dear Kenley, I also love to have music playing while I cook, that’s the best time in the kitchen :), thanks for sharing breakfast ideas, your posts are always so inspiring! Have a great day!
    Hugs from Romania
    Cristina

  10. gentlestitches
    November 10, 2013

    I am afraid I realized I was a little “stress head” when it came to cooking and I have silence and total concentration. Your post made me smile at myself! I think I will play some Bob Marley tonight when I cook!

Let me know what you think!

