Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Homemade Staples: Basic White Bread

Loaves of White Bread

Baking intimidates some people, and baking with yeast intimidates even more.  But if you can master a few simple recipes you will see that yeast recipes can be your best friend!  Because once you get the hang of it, your options of homemade baked goods are endless!  And there is nothing better than freshly baked bread!!

The recipe below can just as easily be made with whole wheat flour if you prefer.

Basic White Bread (makes 2 loaves)

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 Tbs sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbs butter
  •  2 packages active dry yeast (4 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 1/2 cup warm water (105 to 115 degrees)
  • 5 to 6 cups flour

Place milk, sugar, salt and butter in a small saucepan.  Heat over low heat until butter melts and sugar dissolves.  Cool to lukewarm.

Dissolve yeast in warm water in a large bowl.  Add lukewarm milk mixture and 4 1/2 cups flour.  Stir with wooden spoon until combined.

Add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, and mix until dough clings to itself.

Place dough onto floured surface and kneed until smooth and elastic.

Place dough in a greased bowl.  Cover with a tea towel and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour.

Punch dough down and divide in half.

Shape each half into a loaf and place in a greased loaf pan.

Cover with tea towels and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour.

Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

Let cool 10 minutes before removing from pans.  Continue to let cool on wire racks.

15 comments on “Homemade Staples: Basic White Bread

  1. rachel
    November 12, 2012

    Yeah, I wish more people realized how easy it can be to make homemade breads… cause there’s nothing better than fresh homemade bread sometimes!

  2. petit4chocolatier
    November 12, 2012

    Baking bread intimidates me! Yours look so delicious! I can smell the wonderful scent of bread baking in the oven through your blog! You are inspiring me : )

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 12, 2012

      Glad to hear I’m inspiring you 🙂 Baking bread used to intimidate me as well! Was really nervous first time I used dry active yeast. But the more you do it, the easier it becomes!

  3. gotasté
    November 13, 2012

    I am another who gets intimidated by baking and I have never bake a bread before. However, I took the courage to buy back dried yeast and bread flour determined to give it a try probably this coming weekend. I love crusty bread and yours looks like it. Your recipe just came in time for me. Wish me luck!

    • Green Door Hospitality
      November 13, 2012

      Oh good luck and let me know how it goes for you!! Yeast seems more intimidating than it really is once you go for it! I’m sure your bread will turn out great!!! 🙂

      • gotasté
        November 26, 2012

        Hi Kenly, dropping by to let you know that I have succeeded in baking my first bread! It turned out really good. Thank you for your encouragement.:-)

      • Green Door Hospitality
        November 26, 2012

        Oh how wonderful!! Look forward to checking it out! 🙂

      • gotasté
        November 26, 2012

        Spelled your name wrongly. Should be Kenley. I’m too excited to share my good news.

      • Green Door Hospitality
        November 26, 2012

        🙂

  4. Pingback: Lunchtime Hospitality: Orecchiette, Sausages and Broccoli in Broth « Green Door Hospitality

  5. Pingback: ARTISAN BREAD « gotasté

  6. tickledpink
    December 30, 2012

    I’ve been wanting to make homemade bread as my mom does and this looks like an easy recipe. Homemade rocks bread machine! Thanks for sharing this.

    Once I make some I’ll post pics on my blog

    http://threeladybugsliketoplay.wordpress.com/

    • Green Door Hospitality
      December 31, 2012

      So glad this post could be of inspiration to you! The pictures look great, thanks for sharing on your blog post! 🙂
      Happy New Year!
      Kenley

  7. Pingback: Come on over… Homemade bread’s in the oven. | Three Ladybugs Like to Play

Let me know what you think!

