Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Holiday Entertaining Tip: Serving Bowls and Post-It Notes

Post It Note Serving Bowls

The last thing you want to be doing an hour before your guests arrive is figuring out what serving dishes you have and which one the mashed potatoes will fit in!  A couple days before your gathering, write post-its of each dish you will be serving.  Stick the post-it of the food onto the serving dish that you’ll be using for that recipe.  This gives  you a bit of time to plan out what will work best for each item on your menu.

By doing a little pre-planning before hand, you’ll be cutting down on your stress the day of the gathering.  Plus, If you are lucky enough to have helpers (spouse, children, family, friend) that are assisting you in the final preparation before the guests arrive, they already have a map of where the food goes!!

For More Posts in the ‘Holiday Entertaining – Autumn Edition’ Series

8 comments on “Holiday Entertaining Tip: Serving Bowls and Post-It Notes

  1. Leah
    November 6, 2012

    This is such a simple tip but so smart and I would have never thought of it. Since my boyfriend and I are hosting Thanksgiving for the first time this year, I’m definitely Pinning this so I remember to do it!

  2. petit4chocolatier
    November 6, 2012

    I love this! I am a sticky note type of person but have never thought of this! You are amazing!!

  3. moderndayruth
    November 7, 2012

    Pre-planing rules! I didn’t think of sticky notes either – but anything that reduces the stress just before the guests arrive is just perfect! Thanks for the tip 😉

  4. Christine
    November 9, 2012

    This is such a good idea. I do love a Post-It! I use them for all kinds of things, but I hadn’t done this yet.

Let me know what you think!

